January finishes

11 Feb

Total of 5 finishes for January.  Heirloom was offering double points for small quilts.  These first 4 will either be wall hangings or table squares.

Jan finish1 Up close 1 Back 1

The square in the middle of the block is probably 1″ finished.

Jan finish 2 Up close 2 Backing 2

Little blue baskets, badly pieced but not real obvious once given a hot bath and dry!

Jan finis 3 Up close 3 Backing 3

Teeny 9 patch!  The squares within the 9 patch are 1/2 ” finished!

Jan finish 4 Backing 4

Colorful little hour glass.  Apparently the photog decided against an up close pic!

i think (don’t quote me) these were Jo Morton patterns from her little women club.  Love the texture created by the quilting, wash, dry process!  I quilted all 4 of these with 1 backing.  Quilted was freehand as is obvious when looking at my wiggly lines!  I hand bound these.

Jan finish 5 This one is a nice lap sized quilt that we gave as a wedding gift.  2″ finished batik squares.  Quilted in a teal thread with a nice all over design.  This quilt was hand bound.

and that wraps January. So I started with 96 – 5 January finishes leaves me at 91!

 

4 Responses to “January finishes”

  1. Melanie in IA February 11, 2014 at 6:29 am #

    Good progress and good work. Do you work with minis a lot? Are many of the 91 mini?

    • myolivebranch February 11, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

      I don’t do many minis. I find it a bit stressful to try to be so precise. Actually, I think there is inky 1 other mini in my UFOs. There are several small quilts and or runners but the piecing is pretty average size.

  2. KrisR February 11, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Looks good! Bet it feels good too. Love the small quilts – I might need to do some of those once I finish up some current projects.

    • myolivebranch February 11, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

      It’s a good start. This month the challenge is anything with red in it gets double points. I have 5 picked out. Will see what happens in the next 2 weeks!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

