Quilting time!

5 Dec

Sometimes my job is like stitching rainbows!

Julies

This is a pantograph design called Flourish by Lisa Calle.  Thread is Tie dyed variegated by Signature.

Here’s the front:

Julies

 

Julie Bruce piece this lovely quilt.  So fun to quilt!

 

kris asked on Facebook if I talked to myself while I was quilting this.  She wanted to know my thots………

Kay’s head:  okay here we go,  feet firmly planted on the mat, bifocals adjusted, roll your shoulders    a n d.  Breathe……..  Did I remember to check my highs and lows?  Yes, yes I did.  Ooh this is quilting up nicely.  Stay on the line.  Nice smooth lines.   Is it still snowing?  I like to look at snow but the touching of it and driving in it, and pushing and shoveling and scraping  of it…yeah, not so much.  Crap, was that a loopy?   Please please don’t let this have loopies.  I wonder what everyone is doing at the house.  Probably still sleeping since it is only 5:30 in the morning.  why is it that about 30 minutes before I have to get up I have blissful deep sleep?  Karma.  Dang!  A bobble.  It’s ok, just let’s everyone know this was hand guided.   Breathe…..  It must be karma.  I can’t sleep because in reality, I’m not a nice person. Oh look I’m almost to the end of this pass.  Did I start with a full bobbin?  I might be able to make it to the end…….gasp.  Breathe you moron.  Holding your breath will NOT put more thread on the bobbin.  See!  Right there!  that is why karma is biting you in the tush.  You are so mean.  Name caller.  Almost there.  watch the swirl, tension looks good.   and I am too a nice person.  I’m sometimes too nice to people that don’t deserve it!   6 more inches and I’m there.  Please let there be enough thread.  And no loopies.  And be lined up properly.  I hope I chose the right pattern.  And batting.   And thread color.  Almost there…And stop……  Hey!  I still have half a bobbin of thread left.  moron.  quit calling me names.   You’re not the boss of me.

 

aren’t you glad you asked kris?

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Quilting time!”

  1. Jody December 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    Beautifully done- and you are obviously NOT a moron!

  2. mom December 5, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    I have to tell you – I felt like I was on a roller coaster before I got done reading that last paragraph. Love the quilt, quilting and thread but try to relax a bit!

  3. KrisR December 6, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Yeah…..I KNEW what I was asking for. I’m not a moron…… 🙂 Our heads are scary places to go sometimes.

  4. Deb at CV December 6, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    The quilt is beautiful – top & back ladies. No morons there at all. I loved the ride Kay – thanks. I wonder at the similarity of your internal conversation & some of mine.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

