Liar! Liar!

2 Dec

My pants are on fire!

So I may have been exaggerating the number of finished tops that I personally have that are waiting to be quilted. I may have been saying “about a hunderd” when the topic came up. Keep in mind this is everything from a table runner to a bed sized quilt. This includes quilt tops that I personally pieced, purchased vintage tops, and tops that were gifted to or exchanged with me.  That’s a lot of categories people!

So Heirloom Creations is doing a terrific program in 2014 all about your UFOs (unfinished objects). Read all about it here:  UFO

So I decided it would be a tremendous idea for me to focus on quilting in 2014 instead of piecing.

First step is to identify and count all the UFOs and turn that list into heirloom creations.

After a cursory inventory, I’m thinking I’m a bit of an exaggerator! I don’t have a hundred un quilted tops!  No sir!  That is completely reedonkulous! If I have a hundred tops, I should be in therapy.  How many tops do YOU have?  Well, all I know is that I don’t have “about a hunderd” of them.

i only have about 94!   A measly few 94.  Just a puny little 2 digit number.  That’s what I have.  2 (count ’em TWO) digits!  What a relief! Of course I just counted what I could easily see. I may have missed one or inadvertently counted a back as a top.

We will have to wait until I get snaps of them all for an official number but DANG! I think I’m in good shape here! Maybe I don’t even need to participate in the UFO program. I’ve got a handle on this. No one would turn me into (quilt) hoarders for just 94 tops. I have at least a 6 quilt cushion!

I took snaps of 20 of the quilts so far. Wanna see ’em? That’s a silly question, of course you do or you would have clicked past me already onto the next blog. Duh.

Here is 10 of my ONLY 94 (at this time) (who knew I was such an exaggerator) un quilted tops.

Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo  Ufo

 

10 Responses to “Liar! Liar!”

  1. KrisR December 2, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    OMG. That’s all. Speechless in Termeil.

    • myolivebranch December 3, 2013 at 5:40 am #

      You speechless? Speechless?! Well the fact that you are speechless leaves me with nothing to say.

      • KrisR December 3, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

        NEVER thought that could happen…..you with nothing to say? oh puleeese! Good on you that you are putting a priority on completing your tops this year. Be strong…..SAY NO to everyone who wants you to quilt for them. Put yourself first. JUST SAY NO. (You know you want to. 🙂 )

  2. Emmely December 3, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    Could the conclusion be that you very much prefer piecing over quilting? If you have tops that are more or less identical sizes you could use one of them as backing (if necessary add a border) to bust 2 in one go?

    • myolivebranch December 3, 2013 at 5:46 am #

      Piecing is my first love so I think I had a head start there over quilting. Another contributing factor might be that for the past chunk of years I have quilted for others as a job and pieced for social interaction. I’m very social obviously! i will keep your “bust 2 in 1 go” in mind!

  3. Jody December 3, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    You make me feel good about myself–someone else has as many WIPS as I do!!!

    • myolivebranch December 4, 2013 at 5:34 am #

      It’s a public service really…:)

  4. Moneik December 5, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I’ve been in the UFO program at the Sewing Center for the past year and thanks to it. I have finished 55 UFO’s and 45 New projects (many of which the fabric was already bought as well as the pattern). It helped me tremendously to downsize my ridiculous stash and focus. Next year is the year of big quilts for me (I’ll move my quilt frame and make it the bigger size), those are the only ones really left on the list and new challenging quilts. Lots of samples to get made for next years classes, so this month is going to go quickly.

    • myolivebranch December 11, 2013 at 5:40 am #

      Wow! I hope I am as successful as you were!

  5. PatS December 10, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Wow, that makes me want to get in the sewing ‘gear’ or rather stitches and get some things done, those bits and pieces of UFOs put together into a finished project! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

