Happy new year!

31 Dec

Oh yeah, I still have 17 hours before I have to say goodbye to 2012.  Plenty of time to play with fabric one last time this year

here are some pics of my 2012 NYD project

Nyd2012

 

Its from the book History Repeated by Betsy Chutchian and Carol Staehle.   I think it was called Blindman’s Fancy.

here is a few close ups for your pleasure:

Nyd2012.2

That pic is a little dark and it looks a little umm well “friendly” .  In reality the quilt is quite vibrant and pieced pretty well.  moist of the steps include a squaring up process and I used a special ruler by Quilt in a Day for all the flying geese.  Super simple.

Nyd2012.3

i used mostly scraps for this quilt.  Lots of Jo Morton pieces that were left over from a “Jo’s little women” group I participated in for a few years. This quilt put enough of a dent in my civil war stash that I NEEDED to go shopping this my NYD 2013 project.  Really!

Nyd2012.4

Nyd2012.5

Nyd2012.7

Now how did he get in this post?  Liam must approve of my quilting choices!

 

6 Responses to “Happy new year!”

  1. mom December 31, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Awesome!! f-geese ruler may be “super simple” but making a truckload of them is amazing. quilt is beautiful

  2. Peg Page December 31, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Beautiful Kay – I love the colors.

    • myolivebranch December 31, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks peg! I am still lusting after the pink one that was behind you in your recent pic with your mini iPad gift.

  3. KrisR December 31, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    Absolutely stunning! I could lick it it’s so fabulous.

    If that ol’ breeding bouffant topped home economics teacher could see you now…….

    • myolivebranch December 31, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Ha! Hopefully she wouldn’t fail me! I mean really. Who says there is only one way a sleeve should be attached? Ps thanks!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

