sing it with me!

25 Dec

on the 1st day of ……oh what the hay-let’s skip ahead to the last verse since it’s the best one anyway!

on the 12th day of ebay membership, my UPS girl delivered to me….

3 dozen salad plates

beaded, ruffled, ribboned

19 shining goblets

1 pedestal tart bowl

2 politically incorrect ashtrays (to be used as pillar candle bases)

I KNOW there is 3 pieces there.  i CAN count.  it’s just that one isn’t an ashtray.  still makes a great candle base.  🙂

1 beautiful bride’s basket

2 (not 7) vases

a pitcher and 6 tumblers

 

5 ruffled candy dishes

4 candlestick holders

3 ice tea glasses

2 salts and peppers

and a shoe with a cat face on the front

one more time…..just kidding.  🙂

judge me if you will….Whoa!  did everyone else just feel Kris’s CER (condescending eye roll)?!?!  ok, as i was saying…..judge me if you will, but just know that i know that there is surely some type of skeleton in your own closet.  it probably isn’t hobnail milk glass, but i bet if i dug around a bit, i could dig something up on you.  granted, i probably won’t (dig around) because well, that takes time, and i could spend that time hunting up a hobnail punch bowl and 12 cups so you’re probably safe from being exposed.  i’m just saying, i know i COULD get something on you.  i just CHOSE not to.  and that’s my story.  still.

 

now in the interest of full disclosure.  ebay is not the only place to find these pretties nor is UPS the only delivery service.  etsy is wonderful.  Fed X and the post man are top notch!  junk shops across the world are my close and personal friends.  and speaking of friends and relatives….you guys are SOOOO generous!  many thanks for the gifts!!

 

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “sing it with me!”

  1. Sybil December 26, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    I’m sure everyone has some kind of pimply white china secret in their closet….lol……enjoy!

  2. Sybil December 26, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    (oh, and it’s contemptuous…..not condescending) ;o)

    • myolivebranch December 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

      i KNEW i had it wrong but couldn’t come up with the right word. contemptuous has a better ring to it!

  3. Karen December 27, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Oh my….. that’s alot of hobnail. Wow. And don’t worry about me making fun of you…. I’m too afraid you would share some of my skeletons with everyone! ;o)

    • myolivebranch December 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      and you do have a skeleton or 6 in your closet!!

  4. Karyl December 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    OMG – the shoe with the cat face so reminds me of Grandma Lola!! She had that same piece!!

    • myolivebranch December 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      i KNOW! wish i knew the backstory on the shoe with the cat face. they are everywhere!

  5. Susie December 28, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    AND a happy, happy new owner of these wonderful dishes ….

    • myolivebranch December 28, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      i’m buying in multiples of 13 when appropriate so it will work when i host birthday club!

  6. Gayle December 28, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Oh Kay, you dont need to research me. I am a blatant collector of WS George Petalware. So much so, that I now need a china cabinet. Or some kind of hutch to put it all in.

    So where are you keeping your collection? Are you also in the market for some new furniture to accomodate it all?

    Gayle

    • myolivebranch December 29, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      no furniture is on my market list! i have 2 built in cabinets in the dining room and my gramcracker’s china cabinet so i just “rotate the stock” periodically! am googling WS George Petalware right now!

  7. Christine December 29, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    where oh where do you store all that stuff??? it’s gorgeous, it’s fun, it’s…sooo many pieces! (my skeleton du jour is sportswear, more specifically, running shoes…LOTS of them. for the record, i store them all over the house…as in drop them as i come in the door and maybe i will dump them in the baskets before my next run. lol)

    • myolivebranch December 29, 2011 at 6:50 am #

      I get the shoe thing (daughter has it), i don’t do it tho…pretty much find a pair of shoes that feel good and wear them until they are not fit to be seen in public with. then find another pair……

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

