Gramcracker

18 Nov

would have been 95 on November 16th.  To celebrate a life well lived and much loved, I made 9 gramcracker squares quilt tops for some people that were special to Gramcracker and me.  I didn’t get to all the special people because well…..because I’m a slug.  🙂  anaway, here’s the quilts:

 

that’s most of them anyway.  One wasn’t done at this picture time and 1 was already on it’s way to Australia.  and never mind the blurry area on the left side of some of the pix.  someone smudged up the lens and I didn’t notice it…..

Carin made several versions of this card.  These are Gramcracker’s hands.

love it.  seriously.

ok, here’s some closer ups of the quilt tops:

I made 2 of these from fabrics Kris hand dyed and didn’t like so she gave them to me.  yeah, i’m a lucky dog.  One went to Kris and one went to Carin.  And even though Kris didn’t like her fabrics, she liked her quilt top.

and this one went to my little brother Kevin (who just turned 50!)  These are left over fabrics from scott’s “ocean wave” quilt.

Kelly saw this one at the September retreat and just loved it so i put her name on it.  Lisa loved it too…..but i wasn’t making one for Lisa.  sorry Lisa!

And Karyl received this one.  I think these are leftovers from a quilt that is cut out but not started.  Originally these fabrics were a gift to me about a year ago from a couple good friends.

 

This one went to Crystal.  These were leftover fabrics from my nieces twin boys’ birth quilts.  yeah the quilt tops are done but not quilted.  and the twins are 2 years old.  good thing i made big baby quilts!

I made 2 of this grouping.  These fabrics were left overs from my Christmas gift last year from Carin and her family.  yeah, that quilt isn’t done yet either…..  I gave my good buddies Karen and Chris each one of these quilt tops to go with their red couches.

and this one went to mom.  She has a love for wild fabrics just like me.

i put the quilts in a graham cracker box (keebler because the elf is too cute to be!).  It was amusing to me that several of the recipients thought i gave them a box of crackers.  Kelly even thought how clever I was to give graham crackers.  pretty sure she liked the quilt top even better once she realized it wasn’t crackers!

so there you go…..  smoochies and hugs to you all!

 

8 Responses to “Gramcracker”

  1. Tammie November 19, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Very cool Kay. Love the Keebler boxes! Clever for sure!

  2. mom November 19, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I love my special gramcracker quilt and the Keebler box was so clever and when Kelly took it from you – she said “what? a box of crackers!” The cards Carin made are a keepsake. You have outdone yourself this year with this challenge you made to yourself and we all love you. Thanks for making the day special for me with the gift and pizza party with you and Kelly.
    Mom

  3. Kelly November 19, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    What a blessing you are to us. I absolutely love my quilt and just can think of so many memories of gramcracker. What a fun evening we had.

  4. lrdesignsquilting November 19, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Great quilts! Can’t go wrong with simple. What size are the squares, I think I need to start cutting up my leftover fabric, too.

  5. Sybil November 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    LOVELOVELOVELOVE mine too! I can’t believe you finished 9 of them.

  6. jannell November 19, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Gosh woman! Amazing and cool. artteajannell.blogspot.com

  7. Karen November 21, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    It is such a lovely way to celebrate the life of someone you love so much. And have I told you lately how much I love my quilt? I do! And I feel so lucky……. for a variety of reasons….. one of which is having you for a friend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gramcraker Squares « Coloring Outside the Lines - December 1, 2011

    […] you’d like to see the other quilts – pop on over to MyOliveBranch where she has a picture of them […]

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

