my day was great how

16 Nov

was your day?  🙂  so turning 50 definitely had it’s advantages.  started the day off sewing and look what came together:

it’s a simple little 25 patch made with moda bella solids combined with red wagon plaids.  i cheated on the alternate blocks and not just because i was lazy.  the fabric i chose is very directional ( a flannel alphabet sampler looking one) and it would not have worked to have cornerstones.  say LA-V.  or WALAA! because it’s FINITO!

here’s a closer-up so you can see the fabrics.  the bella fabrics were fairly new but the red wagon plaids and the flannel alphabet sampler pieces had been aging for 10 or more years.  🙂  i like the combination of the 3 different types of fabrics.

ignore the wrinkles etc.  i had pressed and folded it up for a day before getting around to taking pix of it.  it lays relatively flat and square considering the bias edges and the use of aged flannel.

after sewing the day away, we met for supper and drinks.  and even though we were stuffed, we shared a piece of yummy cheesecake.

i love that the waitress found out it was my birthday and treated us to this for free and didn’t SING and CLAP in a conga line.

and i got prezzies!  kris and kelly made this.  ok ok .  all kelly had to do was write a check.  but she’s VERY good at that.

and it’s PINK!  look at those fabrulous ladies.  i don’t even know which one to be!  naturally, a grey haired one but…

can you see it’s fru-fru’d up with sparklies?

looks like we are all gussied up for some big event!

I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT!

i guess this must be me since it was the label.  the backing fabric is delicious.  i wonder if kris painted it herself.

it was quilted by the girls at always your design and karen g did the binding (kelly couldn’t handle it!)

thank you thank you for a delightful 50th day.

 

i received lots of other nifty gifts too during my birthday week-a pink basket filled with cake, pink polka dotted cups and plates, a perfect pocket husband, sox etc!

 

ps.  we got points that day for using words beginning with “f”  .  the points were worthless but we did it anyway!\

6 Responses to “my day was great how”

  1. Randi November 16, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Happy belated bday!! Sorry I missed it!

    • myolivebranch November 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      thanks randi! i’m typically belated, so no worries!!

  2. Kelly November 16, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Thank goodness for Karen aka “Vicky” because she really does sound and kind of look like Vicky Lawrence (and I mean that only in a good way)!!! I offered to hot glue it but thought I might burn my fingers! It was a lovely evening and I’m sure glad “we” picked Bravo’s!!!

    • myolivebranch November 16, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

      yes, it was a good “pick” and i’m glad you decided to join us there! 🙂

  3. Sybil November 16, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Glad you like it. When I saw the fabric – I knew it had to be yours…it had your name written all over it.

  4. Jan November 19, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I love the quilt!!!! I’m so glad you had a freakin fabulous day!! That was two F’s…. give me more notice and I’ll come up with more 😉

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

