ok everybody

3 Aug

you can all get off my back now.  you know who you are…were i mean because you’re all off now. thank you.

ta da!!:

and now you’re thinking “what’s the big honkin’ deal” right?  well let me tell you.  this here quilt.  yes this one that is COMPLETELY finished…..borders binding and label (ok no label but that’s how i roll)…..yes, this quilt is kaiden’s birth quilt.  i KNOW!  yes, he’s already (several months ago) had his 2nd birthday.  and you’re all tisk tisk tisking me because, well, because well i am a quilter.  and how could this poor child go 2 years (24 months) plus without a birth quilt.  i’ll tell you.  just because.   just because i am the nana and i say so.

anyway, kaiden’s quilt is done.  🙂  horray.  sisboomba.

and now a word from our sponsors:

pattern is by kaffe fasset.  the man loves templates.  and i don’t.  so i bought his book (one of many actually), and looked at the pattern, and figured out how to make it using a rotary cutting method.  and a liberal amount of fudging.  some of the fabrics are his dots which i combined with hand dyed fabric by ME! (and a few by janet myers because i didn’t have enuf greens and she had gobs).

i couldn’t decide on the border fabric so i used both.  i like it.  mitered corners even!  a little pizzaz if you will.

the backing fabric is by starr designs.  quilting thread on backing is a variegated by signature (yellow, orange and green).

quilting was a bit out of my comfort range…..i’m much more freehand, swirly, loosey goosey style.  this quilt just kept yapping at me.  so i caved and did ruler work.  ugh.

i quilted 2 of the borders in a chevron style and the remaining 2 borders in piano keys.

and lookie here.  i did the binding by machine.  yes i did.  i watched judy l’s video and tried it and i stunk it up.  looked so dang easy on the video.  i really need to find a method that works for me.  so i tried another way (not original).  this time i sewed the binding to the back of the quilt, and did a fancy little stitch on the front.  it’s okay.  not fab.  i think the key for me will be to use the same fabric for the border, backing and binding and top all that off with a matching thread.  but since that wasn’t the case this time, i decided to make the stitching stand out and used the variegated thread again.

good enuf for the boys i go with.

i’m working on another binding right now (who would guess that the outdoor QUILTS AND VINES show is in a couple weeks?!?).  it’s working pretty good.  by no means is this method fast for me.  i’m pinning about every 1-2 inches.  but my hands are not in pain when i get done so it’s a good thing martha.

14 Responses to “ok everybody”

  1. Karen August 4, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    I can’t believe someone would give you a bad time about not having Kaiden’s quilt done…….. regardless, it’s an awesome quilt! Good job! I’m sure he’s going to love it….

    • myolivebranch August 4, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

      i KNOW! hard to believe some people. 🙂 and yes, i’m sure he’ll enjoy snotting on it and spilling chocolate milk and grinding cereal into it. 🙂

  2. Peg August 4, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    You did good – it’s beautiful!

    • myolivebranch August 4, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

      thanks peg!

  3. Diana W. August 4, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    I love this quilt! I especially like how you did the borders, miter and all. I am totally stealing this idea! I hear ya on the binding. I hate binding and I also tried Judy’s method and stunk it up. I keep trying to find some way that works best for me. So far, my best way is “my friend Cat does it for me” works the best! 🙂
    Seriously, this quilt is adorable and 2 yrs late? pfft, it will just have more of a chance making it through his childhood that way! Think posative!

    • myolivebranch August 4, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

      i wish i had a cat to do all my binding! and because i’m such a slug, i’m just a little bit glad that someone else stunk it up too!! 🙂

  4. Vicki W August 4, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I love it! I also happen to love doing rule work.

    • myolivebranch August 10, 2010 at 6:39 am #

      i can’t tell from your typing if you’re kidding about loving ruler work. i need an emoticon! i know some people really like it. you could very well be one of the weird ones. (said with all due respect and love!)

  5. Christine August 6, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I tried doing Judy’s method, too. Mine did not turn out nearly as nice as the demo. Hmmm…I thought I had tried REALLY hard, too! Just couldn’t make it look as nice as I wanted it. Maybe I just prefer hand-sewn binding… The decorative stitch does do the trick on those utility type quilts, though! I’ve used it over the years and those baby quilts held up like iron.

    Love your quilt! It has that “happy” feel. 😀

  6. myolivebranch August 10, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    i really prefer the hand sewn binding. most of the time, it can’t be beat. i just can’t do it most of the time myself. so….i’m still trying to master machine binding. 3 quilts under my belt so far.

    it’s nice to know i’m in good company as far as trying judy’s method and not being as good as she is with it!

  7. Kit Lang August 11, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Oh gosh – I so feel you on the templates (and the straight line quilting as well!) The quilt is lovely – and congrats on a pretty binding. 🙂

    (Oh, P.S. – here through Vicki W – but glad to have found you – I giggled several times while reading your post!)

  8. Carin November 16, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    Soo… I’m not complaining cuz you help me out a lot (and I mean a lot!), but I just thought it hilarious to see this post again today (11/16/13) and Liam (3 1/2 years old) doesn’t have a birth quilt even cut out yet!! 🙂

    • myolivebranch November 16, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

      No, but he’s tthhiiissss close to getting a truck and tractor quilt!!! The line is long with my “good intentions”.

      • Carin November 17, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

        Best nana ever!!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

