funky fans

14 Jun

is a pantograph that i’ve been working on recently.  i have a struggle.  i want my lines to be perfect.  i’m unable to do that.  i’ve made the design work using serpentine lines and love that but that makes it even more a contemporary design.  i want something that looks old.  so i decided  to try it again and just go with it.

not too bad.  my top is busy so my unevenly spaced “fans” are not that noticeable.

ummm yeah.  my  unbusy back is another story.  this kinda bugs me.  it might grow on me but now it bugs me.  maybe because i’ve seen the PERFECT baptist fans that can be done with statlers/iq’s/etc., with circle lord attachments and by superhuman perfect quilters using acrylic circles….maybe that’s why my funky fans bug me…..

i don’t prewash most of my fabrics.  i typically use cotton battings.  both result in some shrinkage when washed and dried.  i love the crinkled look that combination creates.

nicely crinkled top.  crinkling creates great texture.

and here we are again only it’s crinkled.  i like it.

i even like it upclose.  yes.  my fans are still uneven.  but less noticeable now that there is all that texture!

come on!  how can you resist the crinkles?!?!

LOVE IT!  seriously i’m head over crinkles with this quilt!

anyone for tea?

ps funky fans is a design by lisa calle.  i purchased mine at intelligentquilting.com   piecing pattern is “in the pink” by buggy barn was free several years ago.  fabrics by buggy barn.   end commercial.

9 Responses to “funky fans”

  1. Peg June 14, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Love it – when is tea time?

  2. Jody June 14, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Love it!! I really like the fan pattern–and I’m with you–not prewashing and crinkles are the only way to go!! In fact, i tell the ladies at the shop who are worried about little imperfections in both piecing and quilting, that this method hides a multitude of sins and looks great!

  3. Janet June 14, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I think one of my favorite parts is the natural uneven lines! I love that old school hand driven look lol. You rocked this quilt, perfect pattern, perfect fabric and perfect quilting choice. Can you tell I love this quilt lol.

  4. Tammie June 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I like the texture too – and I love the fan pattern! I haven’t even though about Baptist Fan in awhile (and I have those templates!). I should remember I have those! I love the fabrics too. Very pretty!

  5. leanne spencer June 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    just found your blog (mqr link)…..LOVE it

  6. sammi June 14, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Fabulous, Kay! Stop beating yourself up over “perfection”. 99% won’t notice that you have a line “off” or “wobbly” or whatever! Remember the Amish !!

  7. Karen June 15, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    I think it’s beautiful! Good job! And I already have a quilt top picked out that I want you to do that pattern on…. now to just get it finished.

  8. Kim June 16, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I think it looks great! Of course I love crinkles…but your fan is fine by me! I’m even kinda diggin the pink. *GASP! What? Did I just say that? out loud? I meant the brown…diggin the brown.

    • myolivebranch June 19, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      smile…..ah yes. another closet pinker. come out of the closet i say!!!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

