what’s on the machine?

4 May

i’m so glad you asked!

this lovely LARGE (read HUGE) batik quilt:

technically it’s sandi’s quilt but karen pieced it.  i’m using QD select cotton batting and quilting with Rainbow flight pattern by miki & diane.  thread is olive drab.

PRESTO CHANGO!!!!!!

it’s OFF the machine!  this isn’t in all of the body of the quilt…. (again, read HUGE)

these two shots show the courthouse steps border.  i think the border really makes the quilt.  well, okay, the fabric do too.  and the perfect piecing.  and those little corner stones……

and finally, a close up for your viewing pleasure!  the photos seem kind of washed out.  maybe it’s just my monitor.  maybe it’s me.  the quilt in reality is stunning.  wtg karen!

20 Responses to “what’s on the machine?”

  1. sybil May 4, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Gorgeous…..no……BREATHTAKINGLY gorgeous.

  2. Karen May 4, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    You did an awesome job! I love it! And so does Sandy!

  3. Terri May 4, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    Ooo! I like that one!

  4. Diana W. May 4, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Very pretty. Why do I never think to make a 9 patch type quilt when I like them so much?

  5. Jan May 4, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!! I love it!!!!!!

  6. Freda Henderson May 4, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    I am a batik fiend and I love it. Gorgeous quilt.

  7. Tammie May 4, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I love batik too! That is really pretty!

  8. Vicki W May 4, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    That’s a really pretty quilt!

  9. Bug May 4, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Amazing quilt! Great work done by all!

  10. sammi May 4, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Beautiful!

  11. Linda Card May 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Love it. The border is fabulous.

  12. myolivebranch May 5, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    it is a gorgeous quilt. i hope karen comes back and reads all your kind words!

  13. Karen May 5, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Oh, how lovely to check back on Kay’s blog and find the nice comments about my quilt! Thanks so much! I will say that the quilting really made a difference… Kay did a wonderful job! Now to just get the binding done……

  14. sybil May 5, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I love binding. I think everyone should save up their non-urgent binding projects for when I’m back next time.

  15. Kelly May 5, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I think I have binding from my first quilt 10+ years ago that needs to be sewn on – it’s got your name on it!!! Of, course that was the same time I was retaking my beginners class (thanks to you and Kay!) and I was more ocncerned with getting it done vs making sure my corners lined up! Lord help me if I ever want to make another quilt someone quick take my temperature!

    • Karen May 6, 2010 at 6:20 am #

      Don’t worry Kelly – you’ll probably talk me into cutting it out for you again. I’m sure you know someone who can quilt it and you already have a volunteer for binding. You’ll only have to piece the quilt – you can do that!

      • sybil May 6, 2010 at 11:34 am #

        ummm…….no……I don’t think she can. :o) She flunked her first quilting class and we only passed her the 2nd time out of sympathy. If she ever wants a quilt…..it will be much easier to just do it 100% – I don’t think any of us can handle the trauma of her behind a sewing machine. Truly, I think Kevin can quilt/sew better than Kel! How she missed the sewing gene, I’ll never know.

      • Karen May 6, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

        Too funny. Maybe we can give her some glue to use.

  16. Kelly May 9, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Personally, I’d rather just buy the flippin quilt or talk really nice to someone the reeeeeeeeeally looooooves me or maybe someone that feels sorry that I”ve done all the puppy duties and the least they could do is make me a quilt! LOL! Yes, I’m pretty Sure Kev could sew better than me. If it can’t be done in an hour, it isn’t worth doing! Chip Chop!

  17. Becca May 10, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Oh my goodness! beeeeeeeuuuuuuuutiful!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

