karen and kay days!

22 Apr

naturally we start the weekend with getting rid of the boys. a hunting they did go! quickly followed by a stack of snacks!


and look at this lovely cupcake. only it’s not for eating. it’s for luxuriating in the bath with! i haven’t tried it out quite yet but am enjoying thinking about it!

this was my must do project. it was a quilt that crystal started years and years ago. she decided instead of her usual birthday gift of money, she wanted TIME. my time to help her finish the quilt. ummmm ok. i asked a question….do you really want to spend time with me finishing the quilt, or do you just want me to spend my time finishing it? her answer was cagey…….i want the quilt finished. so, i said i’d finish it up. so . presto chango! her blocks are now a top. need to do a bit of searching to find a suitable backing fabric. oh darn…..a shopping i must go!

after staying up until 3 am on friday, we got up on saturday and went to a local quilt show. it was a lovely day. except for one horrifying moment. we started looking at quilts first but got distracted by “shiny” things in the vendor area. so we did a bit of window shopping (karen decreed that she wanted to look at all the vendors first and then go back and make her decisions). then more quilts. more vendors. more quilts. we were all the way through the vendors when i offered to hold karen’s packages (she didn’t follow her own decree) while she perused some fabrics. as i opened my arms up………..OMG i stole a card of buttons! for a second i couldn’t even remember where i picked them up at. it was clear at the other end of the exhibits. thank goodness it was a local vendor. while i’m hightailing it back there, karen is laughing her butt off. (how rude). assuming my stealing the buttons was a sign that i really needed them, i picked up 4 cards and a panel. using my debit card to paying my $50 bill……….yes. declined. WHAT??? by now karen is almost catatonic from lack of oxygen due to laughing uncontrollably. she offers to spot me some cash but the vendor ladies just say, come by next week. first thing i did after leaving the show was dial up my bank (which was closed) to check on the account. nothing amiss that i could tell. on tuesday (monday i forgot) i spoke with a person, she could see no reason for it and asked me if the card has worked since then. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? i’m afraid to use it! she recommends i try it. fine. i go to mcdonalds where i’m just a nameless faceless drive through number. and it works. i’m still worked up over it.

all that public ‘fessing up so i could show you the adorable panel that i bought:

we always ‘pick’ out who we are in picture fabric, so yeah, i’m the one in the cute little sweater and bonnet combo! really cute panel. beautiful colors and super easy to put the book together. it’s by moda. probably called ‘mother goose’. 🙂

i love this “ball” in karen’s quilting room.  her mom made it.  and these “rugs”.  karen can’t stand strings on her quilts.  so she uses a “rat” to sew from one piece to another.  the “rats” are exactly the same size.  i would go so far as to say they have exactly the same rows of stitching on them (karen would call me a liar tho).  so, yeah if you have a doll house in need of some throw rugs…..i can hook you up!  these are her 2010 rats.  that’s a lot of sewing girl!

and just in case you’re thinking that karen is perfect and what is she doing hooking up with a scatterhead like me,  her breakfast muffins were dry.  i’d be a liar if i said that didn’t make me feel just a little better!

10 Responses to “karen and kay days!”

  1. Tammie April 22, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    I always love your posts, Kay. Makes me giggle. Thanks for letting us peek into your fun life! BTW – I’ll take the Almond Joy ….

    Tammie

  2. Karen April 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    OMG. I’m still laughing – have been ever since you stole the buttons. All I have to do is think about it and I bust out laughing again – I just don’t understand why people are giving me funny looks. After all, I don’t have pink hair. :o)

    p.s. Sorry about the dry muffins. I’ll do better next time.

  3. KK April 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    What a hoot! I think I really need to meet this other Karen. How wonderful to have such great fun with a friend.

  4. sybil April 22, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    hmmmm…….I have adopted Karen’s way of doing ‘rat tails’ but I never thought to color coordinate them and cut them to the same size – let alone SAVE them. I think we should come up with ideas on how to use these rat tails…….she could sew them together into coasters or placemats…..make pincushions out of them……. You could make dog rugs out of them and each dog sold would go with a custom rat tail rug. I see a whole cottage industry developing…….books……..patterns…….. You two could be the next Fonds & Porter or Alex Anderson squared! I can see it all now….. ;o) OH! And I just had another idea…..how about a rat tail CONTEST? (ok……I’m going now……)

  5. Karen April 23, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Hey! My rats are only the same size because they were cut from leftover ends of strips. I’m doing something different now – I have a tray of squares and pieces that I keep next to me and I am running them through my machine as my leader/ender…. I’ve almost pieced a whole baby quilt of thimbles cut from a jelly roll doing that and am working on another one that is all squares! Might as well put that thread to good use and try to deplete the stash and leftovers at the same time. I’m tracking my quilt progress this year (I have a chart and everything… are you surprised?)and Kay thougth I should track my rats. I’m just humoring her… as usual. I could mail them to you if you really want them.

  6. sybil April 23, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    You crack me up, Karen! (Good idea though……hmmmmmm……what little pieces could I do that with……thinking…..thinking……). Just when I finally get used to doing rat tails, you change the game on me.

    Have fun this weekend!

  7. mum April 24, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Great idea girls. Check out book Adventures with Leaders and Enders by Bonnie Hunter for Kansas City Star Quilts – she must have swiped the idea. Thanks Karen for being so smart and giving us time saving tips.

  8. Jody April 25, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Great post, Kay–I was chuckling all by myself!! Been there, done that–

  9. Becca April 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Hahah I LOVE it when I have moister muffins then my almost perfect friends.Hahahah. Too funny Kay!

    • myolivebranch April 29, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      i’m not sure my muffins are moister……..i just know hers were dry! lol

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

