so i have pink hair

18 Apr

most of you knew that already. not news. the thing is, the pink won’t stay in this old gray hair very long and within a couple of weeks, it’s faded significantly to sort of a pinkish cast to it rather than shocking bright pink. sometimes i get to it before it’s real faded but sometimes………. yeah, well you know me. and it makes me chuckle because i always get comments right after doing it. and i’ve been doing it for over a year now, so it still surprises me when people comment. makes me wonder if i haven’t seen them in over a year or something. and many times i forget that my hair is pink. it just slips my mind. it might be because in my minds eye, i look like cindy crawford.

so anyhoo, i finally got around to pinking my hair the other night. and then the next day i zipped into the library to drop off and pick up some books. and the librarian says “wow! aren’t you fancy today!” my eyes slanted to one side (this happens when you are searching your memory banks to try to make sense of what someone just said to you). i panic thinking “OMG! i am naked and they can see glitter on my whoo-ha” . you know, like that urban legend where the woman goes to the handsome doctor for her yearly fun visit and he’s all “ooh you got all fancied up to see me” and she doesn’t know what he’s talking about until she gets home and realizes instead of a feminine spray, she used her daughter’s “glitter spray”. ok. none of that has ever happened to me. i’ve never glittered my whoo-ha on accident or on purpose. but i do have irrational fears remember? like the one where an airplane will fall out of the sky on me. my friend (who shall remain nameless: karen) thot that was just so funny. until a plane really did fall out of the sky. not on me but it could have if i’d been in another state. and there is the one about not driving over grates because the whole vehicle might fall through it. and…….well i could go on………and on……but today i’ll spare you. anyway, back the to library. she was talking about my pink hair and i was full clothed. what a relief. for all of us.

10 Responses to “so i have pink hair”

  1. Tammie April 18, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    kp – you crack me up! Love your writing! Laughing here!!!!!!

  2. Diana W. April 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    You are so funny!

  3. Linda Card April 18, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Kay – I love how even your avatar has pink hair. Too cool. You just keep on dancing to the music in your head. Life is too short to worry about what other people think.

  4. sammi April 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    I love marching along with you to a “different drummer”. You are so sweet and loving.

  5. myolivebranch April 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    hey! thanks for laughing along with me! i hesitated to post this as my mom is a faithful reader and well, you know, i wrote about whoo-has and all. hi mom!

  6. Karen April 20, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Too funny. I’m glad to hear you were fully clothed before you ventured out into public. I’ll laugh along with you (or at you) anytime!

  7. becca April 20, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Hahahah OMG Kay I LOVE your blog!

  8. Ginnie April 23, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    I laughed and laughed re the airplane falling out of the sky. Gordon didn’t like traveling under viaducts when the train was on the tracks above because-well you know-the whole thing could come tumbling down just when he was driving under it. Seemed a bit irrational to me-esp when you considered what a rational guy he was. Love ya-pink gray or blond you!!

    • myolivebranch April 29, 2010 at 9:34 am #

      thanks for sharing this quirky side of gordon! i miss him too.

  9. cheekypinky January 11, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    Yay, fellow pink-haired one!

    I totally forget about it too,
    and have had moments of “Hey, why is that person staring at me…Oh.”

    (Have you tried Special Effects colors?
    I use ‘Virgin Rose’, and my color stays pretty darn bright for about a month.)

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

