wip wednesday!

25 Mar

yeah, i know it’s actually thursday (thumpers) and once again i guess i’m the thump.  you’re all surprised right.

my pretty maids are all in a row.  i was a little disappointed that no one questioned why i called this quilt pretty maids in a row.  i guess my attempt at subtlety  edged over into obscurity.  it is called pretty maids in a row because yeah, all the blocks have hour glass figures and they are in a row.  get it?  okay.  i’m over it.  here’s what i anticipate will be my last march finish:

and a close up showing how nice my points are (at least in the photo….i know somewhere in the quilt i’ve lopped off some points!)

the pretty maids fabrics are mostly jo morton civil war pieces from about a year ago.  the shirting is a oldie that i pulled from a tote and the border fabrics are new.  i think this will become a snuggly couch quilt when it gets quilted.   the bright colors will look smashing against all the brown leather dontchathink?

so my march tally is 4 quilts pieced, 1 quilt bound, and 36 yards used.  i still have to get my march postcards finished.  i’m running out of march.

and now for the thumping of kay you’ve all been waiting for.  today is church bake sale.  last night was NOT my night when it came to baking.  i just am not willing to donate baked goods that have been cussed at ….ok, the goods are also burned and look like crap but it’s the cussing that i have trouble donating.  not sure if my plan is now to donate money or try to bake something while wrangling 2 mostly unwrangleable boys and do a road trip……..

9 Responses to “wip wednesday!”

  1. Vicki W March 25, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I’d donate money – in the long run it will be less expensive! Your maids are very pretty and mannerly!

  2. Tammie March 25, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    OOOooooh, I like your maids in a row! They are very nice! I’d donate the money too. Easier for you AND them!

  3. Christine Olson March 25, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Maids in a Row. Very clever, Kay!

    Donate money. Definitely! (But then I usually take that route anyway. “How much money do you want if I DON’T do the fundraising activity?” has often passed my lips.) 🙂

  4. myolivebranch March 26, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    i donated money..

  5. sammi March 27, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Love love love your points! Please don’t go looking for any you “may” have lopped off. Beautiful piece. And I’m glad you decided on $$. I know it’s not as “homey” “personal” “tasty” but oh, well! Your sanity is the important part of this gig …

    • myolivebranch March 28, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      thanks sammi! turns out they had plenty of baked goods so no one missed mine.

  6. sybil March 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I believe the sanity boat has already sailed……

    • myolivebranch March 28, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

      ok. that’s rude. funny and true but still rude!! 🙂

      • sybil March 29, 2010 at 12:16 am #

        I know…..I feel so ashamed….. 🙂

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

