little by little

18 Mar

the boys are being exposed to quilting!

cutting:

ok, today it is just construction paper and a monkey scissors but tomorrow? fabric? rotary cutter? just kidding, we’ll still be monkeying around.

today hand sewing with a plastic needle and yarn. tomorrow? hand applique? firing up the bernina?  longarming it?// ummm yeah, we need to work on the length of our stitches and consistancy…..

11 Responses to “little by little”

  1. deb levy March 18, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    awwwwwwww, how cute!

    Monkey sissors?? No fair, I want some………….

    • myolivebranch March 25, 2010 at 6:21 am #

      i know! me too. i wonder if the boys would notice that they were missing……yeah, i’m sure they would!

  2. deb levy March 18, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    see, I need the monkey scissors..cause in my last comment I couldn’t spell. They’ll make it better….I swear 🙂

  3. sammi March 18, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Can I tell you how much I LOVED those cards with the needle and yarn? Oh yeah! And next on to raffia … and I “think” I made pot holders and placemats on a little ol’ frame that later was used for those stretchy pieces of (probably) polyester. But my Mom also showed me how to tie knots like macrame with the raffia … it was probably 1954 … she also made me “paper dolls” from Sears and JCP catalogs .. she was way ahead of her time.

    Love that the boys are having a chance to learn all this … I don’t think they would at daycare. There is nothing wrong with daycare, but the one-on-one would probably be one-on-four or five … And who is left-handed?? Uh Huh … try to teach him to be ambidextrous. It is incredibly useful! I write and bat and pitch right handed.. but I box and shoot and score layups left handed. Throws the opponents for a loop !! I taught our mid-kid to be a switch hitter in baseball and he uses it to this day. Even in Rugby!

    Oh dear … did not mean to capture the whole thread!!

    I just think these boys are so lucky to spend time with Nana … and I think Nana is learning some new things, too !! (Like construction equipment!)

    • myolivebranch March 25, 2010 at 6:22 am #

      thanks sammi! yes, i am very lucky and am learning ALOT!

  4. sybil March 19, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Looks like promising sewing skills- I wonder how they’d do with yoyo’s?

    • myolivebranch March 25, 2010 at 6:22 am #

      HA! i think they should learn yo-yo’s from the yo-yo queen!

  5. Tammie March 24, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    How cute are they? And absolutely they will be able to be a quilter!

    • myolivebranch March 25, 2010 at 6:24 am #

      scott and i have a bet on whether they make a quilt or bag their first hunting prize first. hard to tell who is winning at this point.

  6. Tammie March 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Red faced here, just forgot to check that little box in the last post that says I want notification of a new post. :-\

    • myolivebranch March 25, 2010 at 6:24 am #

      don’t you hate it when your finger hits submit before you’re ready?

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

