i confess

21 Feb

i was a baaaaad puddy tat.

becca was generous enough to do an online mystery quilt.  i joined up with full intentions of keeping up and following directions etc.  (yeah, the world is full of good intentions.  follow through!  that’s the missing key for me!)

i went awol.  i went rogue.  i’m a rebel without a cause or a good excuse.  sigh.

here’s the mystery block:

not bad.  fun fabrics from my stash.  a smidgeon of one of my own hand dyed fabric.  and a batik with swirls and blotches of purple, yellow and green.

enter my rebellion.  first let me emphatically state there is NOTHING wrong with the mystery pattern.  it’s a cool design which is evident in the pix of the other participant’s quilts (see becca’s blog).  however, my fabrics kept snapping and whining that they didn’t want to go in that arrangement.  they would not pipe down i tell you!  i was weak.  i gave in.

the border fabric was just too cute not to use.  sigh.  i just know i’m gonna have to stay after class for this.

wala.  my not a mystery because i am a slug and refuse to follow directions.

my apologies to becca, the pattern designer, my fellow mystery peeps.

but it turned out kinda cute no?  🙂
6 Responses to “i confess”

  1. Jody February 21, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    It’s VERY cute!!–at least you are not as bad as me!! I’m only thru clue #3!!–you are done, so guess that makes me the most sluggy, the sluggiest, the biggest slug-however you want to say it.

  2. Suzanne February 22, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Kay, you wouldn’t be you if you didn’t chart your own course. I don’t think you should be apologizing!!

    And yes, it turned out adorable.

  3. Christine Olson February 22, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    PRECIOUS!!! And YES, that border fabric HAD to be used! Great job, you rule-breaker!

  4. Jami February 22, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I love it! I did it the way it was layed out…turned out cute although it’s still not quilted 😦 If I’d had border fabric that cute I would have used it too! It’s “You”!! 🙂

  5. myolivebranch February 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    thanks guys!! at least i can check check that one off my list. well, at least get it in the “to be quilted” pile of things. 🙂

  6. becca March 1, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    I think the designer would be PROUD of you! Its wonderful and I know Becca is loving this quilt!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

