what a weekend!

18 Jan

boy oh friday do i feel productive!!! i had a super weekend. did you? i got sew much done (that’s a clue, did you pick up on it?)

i finished piecing my new years day quilt. yes i did!  it’s not even the end of january and it’s DONE.

and this is where it will live once it’s quilted and bound:

i set it 3×5 and the width (5) is just perfect for the back of my bench in the dining room.  it’s a little long (3) so i’m thinking on something fairly dense for the quilting so it will suck up a bit.  still have to figure out backing and binding.

i also got started on my february postcards.  you’ll never in a million years guess what color they are.  uh.  how did you ever guess they would be PINK?  just because it’s me, and it’s valentines month, and i won a bunch of new pink stuff?  yes, they’ll be pink.

and carin and i had a quilting session.  she wrapped up practicing a new pattern and we (as in she) quilted my NOT my new years day quilt.  and got the binding sewn on!! uh huh!  i took pictures but i’ll do a separate post on that so the non quilters can just by-pass it.  besides i have a self-imposed 10 picture limit on my posts (i tend to get snap happy.  remember the hat post?  yeah, i had to chose just 10 snaps out of 52.  who takes 52 snaps of hats?  me i guess.)  ((and just so you know, wordpress has a new feature where i can actually HEAR your thots as you read my blog and i don’t think your most recent thot was very nice))  so far i think my january fabric usage is around 16 yards!  go me.

AND i got 2 baby quilts cut out.  one blue and one green.  hopefully they’ll be done before silas and quinn start preschool (they’re only months old now (2ish?).

i also pulled fabrics for a flower quilt that karen g and i are both making.  she’s been waiting on me for months (years?) to get my act together.  i pulled all but 1 piece from my stash.  i just need 1 more red piece.   maybe i’ll go shopping in karen’s stash!

and i talked scott into a movie.  now this is no mean feat i tell you.  he doesn’t do well sitting for an extended period of time.  he prefers to watch movies at home where he can stretch out on the couch and/or get up periodically and move about.  so not only did i talk him into a movie, but into AVATAR.  a 2 hour and 40 minute movie.  i think actually the fact that emmett was coming along was the deciding factor rather than my skills of persuasion but i’m not fussy, as long as we got to the movie!

that’s right.  3-d glasses and all.  great flick to see in the theater in 3-d.  serious fun.

and oh yeah, scott and i played his new wii game…cabella’s big hunter….comes with a gun and everything.  the kids gave it to scott for his birthday.  scott is so not about computers or video games.  pretty sure he played for an hour.  and i didn’t actually get a turn even.  whatever.  it was hilarious watching him.

so, that was my weekend.  whadidyoudo?

7 Responses to “what a weekend!”

  1. Judy January 18, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    you HEARD me think I hope you’ve got a big card in your camera???? Really???? You DID!!!!!! lol

    what did I get done this weekend….wait, there was a weekend in there and I MISSED IT!!!!!

    ;>)

    Judy (who’s waiting for more quilt pics)

    • myolivebranch January 18, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

      more pix are coming!

  2. sybil January 18, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    wow. VERY productive weekend. Love the quilt.

    And, who is that handsome couple in the 3D glasses? :o)

    • myolivebranch January 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      couple hobo’s we picked up. wait….they drove, i guess they picked us up!!

  3. Karen January 19, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    OMG…. we look like nerds. It was a great movie though… I want to see it again! It’s a long one – make sure you go to the bathroom first. And congrats on all you accomplished. Mine was productive too – I finished my New Years quilt and cut out a baby quilt too! It’s all arranged and ready to sew. Yeah!

    • myolivebranch January 19, 2010 at 10:34 am #

      oh yeah! you forgot to mention that when you have to crawl through the row to get out to the bathroom, be sure to “accidently” fall into the lap of the man sitting next to your husband. not that i know anyone who did that.

      • Karen January 19, 2010 at 11:47 am #

        I still can’t believe you did that. I was embarrassed for you.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

