let me be serious for a minute

18 Jan

i’m in the middle of watching an oprah episode.  it’s about cell phones and driving.  distracted driving.  i can honestly say i NEVER text while driving.  but i have made calls and answered calls while driving.  for the last time.

my life list now contains:

i will not make calls while driving.

i will not answer calls while driving.

please don’t answer if i call while you are driving.

please don’t call me while you are driving.

i really really want this to be on your life list too.

15 Responses to “let me be serious for a minute”

  1. sybil January 18, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Took you long enough…..and I mean that with the utmost of love and respect. Now, if you could just convince the rest of the idiots who think they can talk and drive at the same time. Same goes for eating fast food. My life AND yours are worth more than the time it takes to pull over and make the phone call or pull over and eat the burger.

    That goes for you too Kelly.

    LOVE YOU GUYS!

    • myolivebranch January 18, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      how do you really feel?

  2. sybil January 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Oh dear, was I being too brutally honest in my above comment? ha!

    • myolivebranch January 18, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      honesty is encouraged

  3. Christine Olson January 18, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I just say the same program! Sadly, I have tried texting once or twice but realized it was a good way to kill me, my children and others so I stopped doing it a long time ago.

    Oregon has a law now that you can only do calls if you have a speaker system or ear bud device. Still, I find a phone conversation often distracting and have recently stopped answering calls when I’m in the car. (I actually watched a guy on a phone plow into the car in front of him on the freeway. They were both moving forward so thankfully there were no serious injuries but the car that did the ramming was totalled.)

    Sometimes I ask my passengers (the teenagers) to answer my phone and “take a message”. Otherwise, I let it go to voice mail. NOTHING can be so important that it can’t wait a few minutes!

    My kids watched the show with me and I think they understand the dangers of it a little bit better. It would be great to have a device in your car that disables texting when the engine is on.

    • myolivebranch January 18, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      something i found interesting is that it’s not just the “physical” aspect of texting or phoning while driving. it’s the fact that our brains simply do not process multiple things all at once. no matter who you are or how good you are, if you are doing multiple things, you are not doing them as well as if you were only doing one thing.

      i think the quote at the end of the show was good. something like….don’t tempt fate. that call or text can wait.

  4. Terri January 19, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Already there, Kay. And I will (and have) hung up on people who are calling me from a car while driving. Told them quite bluntly I don’t want to hear them die or kill someone else.

    • myolivebranch January 19, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      i’m glad terri. i can’t imagine how horrible it would be to hear an accident happen.

  5. sybil January 19, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    that takes balls, Terri. Good on you!

  6. Kelly January 19, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    No wonder you didn’t answer your phone this morning when I called. I hadn’t read your text. I’m not giving an answer as I don’t think I’m quite ready to say no phone as of yet and I didn’t see Oprah. I’m bad, but then I’m honest.

    • myolivebranch January 19, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      yes, that is why i didn’t answer. i’ll still answer in the bathtub tho! the only person i can hurt there is scott (well his pocketbook!) and i’ll continue to do as carol suggested on her blog (can’t link as i’m not at home) to use kindness to convince you to join me.

  7. grapegrower January 19, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    this situation has been well known for years. it has been proven that talking on a cell phone while driving is equivalent to driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.06. talking/driving in australia has been illegal for many years. big fine/loss of points. we have noticed the practice is of pandemic proportions in the usa. if it takes an episode of oprah to make people come to their senses then that is good news.

  8. Kelly January 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    Well, everyone knows that Australians drive on the wrong side of the road so that was good they made it illegal to talk on the cell phone while trying to dodge cars that are going the wrong way you should lose points on your license for that – probably lose them also if you hit a car!

    If one shouldn’t talk on cells phones – what about listening to books on tape – you can get pretty into the story and not pay attention to driving. Also,you probably shouldn’t sing to the radio or even have a conversation with the co-pilot and put a muzzle over the kids so they can’t scream and hollar and distract you. I do not use my cell phone when I am in hectic traffic like Minneapolis or even Sioux Falls but then again I turn my radio down and I”m not singing to the songs or am I carrying on a real chit chatty conversation – I’m paying attention to the traffic. I just drove 50 miles round trip to a friends this afternoon and the entire trip I met 4 cars and yes I did use my cell phone once. I absolutely do NOT text though – that is my confession and I”m not catholic!

  9. sybil January 19, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    I vote for muzzles…..haha

  10. grapegrower January 19, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    well i have to tell you, we are converting to driving on the other side this year. to make the process easier, they are staggering the change. trucks and buses in march, cars and motocycles in april.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

