aack!!!

1 Jan

the 1st seam of the decade has been sewn.  and i’m now not sure about it.  if i change my plan instead of good quilting luck all year will i have bad quilting luck?  since it’s the beginning of a decade does the luck (good or bad) go for the whole decade or just the year?!?!?!

so help me out here peeps:

this was the plan.  the center is 6″ finished.  surrounding strips are 2.5 inch finished.  i felt the strips needed to be this size to balance out the 6″ center.  this block was to alternate with one sorta like this:

except that the color fabrics would be reversed, the first round would be brown and the outside pink.  the butterfly blocks were my friend karen’s.  she split up her set and we decided using the butterflies in some way would be our nyd quilts.  the butterflies are beautifully done.  hand embroidered.  i’m just not WILD about them.  karen knows that so saying it will not hurt her feelings.

so here’s what i like about this.  it’s fast.  i like the combination of the old fashioned butterflies with contemporary fabrics.

here’s what i’m not so wild about.  the blocks are huge!  i mean HUGE!  16 inches huge.  12 butterfly blocks plus the alternating blocks will practically make a king size quilt.  not really but it will be a big quilt.  so that means i have to make 2 of these quilts.  and still have 3 butterflies left over!!!

so here’s another plan……

the strips would finish at 1 inch.  doing 3 rounds would give me a 9″ block.  i could do another round or more (i just didn’t have room on the ironing board to lay it out)

here’s what i like about it:  i like the fabric combination better (civil war fabrics with the embroidered square).  and i like that i would be using shirting fabrics that karen also gave me once upon a time.  it’s more piecey.  i could use all the blocks up- set 3×5 would be about 30×50 without any boarders.

here’s why i’m hesitating:  it will take longer to do.  will i be using my civil war fabrics which I LOVE on butterflies that i still may not be wild about when i’m done?  some of the colors in the butterflies are more vibrant that the civil war pinks and browns. sigh.

so here’s one more option:

vibrant civil war fabrics…………..

what to do what to do?

what do you think i should do?

13 Responses to “aack!!!”

  1. Jan January 1, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Well, I’m no help because I like the first one…. but here’s a thought…. can you keep the first game plan and incorporate it into the second game plan so there is a little of both? Or is that too busy???

  2. Peg January 1, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I always like everything you do – but my favorite is the 3rd layout with the vibrant civil war! I love love love the Love fabric – but not so much with the butterfly. I didn’t so much like the civil war pinks and browns for the same reasons you described! So…….. I’m putting my vote in for the vibrant civil war! Good luck with your project – looks like you’re off to a great 2010!!!!

  3. Karyl January 1, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    With regard to the butterflies … I think the 3rd option with the vibrant civil war prints. But … I really like your first block (just not combined with the butterflies). Happy New Year!!

  4. sammi January 1, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Okay … I’ve studied and studied. Go with #1, applique a butterfly block to the backing, and send the rest of the butterflies to me !! I LOVE them!

  5. Tammie January 1, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I still like the original with the “Love” fabric. Seems fitting for a New Years Day quilt.

    To put a wrench in it … the other theory would be if you use your civil war fabric which you LOVE, maybe you’ll like the quilt better in the end? Just a thought.

  6. sybil January 1, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    I’m late to the party (dang the time zone issue!) but here’s my 2 cents (except we don’t have cents here in Australia…..well, not in the 1 cent variety….we start with the 5 cents….much more sensible, don’t you think?) ANYWAY…..

    Go with option 1 and get it done with. And maybe only do one small quilt. No one said you had to use all the blocks, right?

    Yeah, it’s not my favorite (that would be option 2 or 3) and you probably won’t love it but you’ll get it done in quick order and it will be off your plate and SOMEONE will love it. And, like one poster above said….slap a butterfly on the back and send the rest to the poster that loves butterflies. That way 3 people get use out of those butterfly blocks (which are lovely – but just not your or my thing). You could even spread the butterfly love around a little further by donating the quilt to the Linus Project (my personal 2010 project for the year).

    We’ll all be waiting to hear what you decide to do!

    And no….your luck won’t change from good to bad if you change directions. Put your little worries away darrrrlink.

    xo
    sista sybil

  7. Linda Card January 1, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I love the combination of pinks and brown. They just attract my eye. I hope that you post a photo of the completed project. I can’t wait to see it.

  8. becca January 1, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I have to say my favorite is the third option too. But I did really like all of them.Ü

  9. Kelly January 1, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I like the 3rd one – without the butterfly not that my vote counts, but I also really like the 2nd one – without the butterfly. Maybe the butterfly could go on a spring postcard? LOL!

  10. kathie January 2, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    you could dye the butterfly blocks in a tea or coffee dye or tan rit dye this would tone them down.
    I really like the second choice the best.
    then the third one…
    not crazy about the big blocks…
    just mho !
    Kathie

  11. Gayle January 2, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    So what is your decision???

  12. myolivebranch January 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    hey thanks everyone for weighing in. we have a decision and i’m working on it. i took jess’s advice and had a glass of wine, then i took it a step further and went to a hockey game, then stayed overnight at a motel, then went to a movie and then went shopping. 🙂 hope to post pictures shortly. maybe tomorrow.

  13. mum January 4, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    OK – after much thinking on this, I have my idea. I love all your fabrics – but don’t think I would put them all in a big quilt with the butterflies cuz I don’t think you’re wild about butterflies. I’d put a few in a baby quilt, I’d sew several into a long table runner (using your pinks and browns to match your decor) for your table and put it on for a week in spring and on Easter and on Mother’s Day! and make a small throw to put on your bench when the runner is on the table. Tea Dying is a good idea too. That way you can enjoy the beautiful embroidered blocks for a short time several times a year.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

