misbehaving

19 Dec

at christmas time? are you kidding me? don’t you know that santa keeps a list. two lists in fact! a naughty and a nice one. get on the nice one!

so i’m sure you all have a similar story to this. the year you ruined your christmas by finding your gifts early and then knowing exactly what you were going to get. no surprise. no anticipation.

mom was fairly creative in trying to keep us from shake, rattle and rolling the gifts to death before the big day by not identifying exactly WHO was getting WHAT gifts. some years she’d assign each of us 5 kids a number (and no it was never our birth order numbers). one year she wrote our names in shorthand and since there was no internet back then, we had no easy access to learn shorthand! she even gave us 5 of the 7 dwarfs names one year and disney princess’ names another year…..ok, kevin would have hated that so that probably didn’t happen. at any rate, mom, she’s a tricky one she is.

so one year i faked being sick and stayed home from school. i think by then, mom had given up and was just putting our real names on packages. so i very carefully unwrapped all my gifts. found out what all my loot was. and i very carefully rewrapped my gifts so no one would know (fat chance, mom knew everything). so it’s now 9 am. what the hey. i unwrapped everyone’s gifts so now i knew what they were getting too.

what a boring christmas that was. sometimes being “in the know” stinks.

couple purty girls. mom and kelly (and she’s made the naughty list PLENTY of times!)

dec15

4 Responses to “misbehaving”

  1. Kelly December 20, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    Yep, then I passed down our secrets to sweet innocent Karyl who is 6 years my Jr. and when I went off to school after graduating and came home for xmas break Karyl and I unwrapped our gifts – I was very careful but not really caring about Karyls gifts, I didn’t watch how she wrapped them back up – I mean how can it be that hard to make sure you have it look like it did before you peeked? Well, mom found out and instead of little sis taking the rap for it – no she had to rat on me – oh, the memories. Yes, I guess I am on the naughty list more so than not. We have a ornament that says Nice and one that says Naughty and just about everyone says the naughty is for me, although I could think of a few that could also be that. But, it is much nicer to be suprised so I don’t look anymore at my gifts even when it would be really easy to. I want to be suprised.

    • myolivebranch December 22, 2009 at 7:22 am #

      see! she’s way worser than me. she corrupted the innocent!!!

  2. sybil December 22, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    who says you can’t teach an old broad new tricks?

    I, (the angel child – near on perfect, really) would never have dreamt of opening my packages….

    • myolivebranch December 22, 2009 at 7:21 am #

      oh pulease!!!!!!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

