pop

12 Dec

as you all know from reading this blog, i regularly have oatmeal smears on my clothing.  and now with cold and flu season, you can guess what is on my other shoulder.  so today i needed to rachet up my standards in order to work the kitchen at the funeral.  i take a nice hot bubble bath and even go to the trouble to shave my legs (which is not a regular thing between september and may) even tho i’m wearing pants.  i powder and spritz and move onto hair and make-up.  no leftover hair today my friend.  no sir, we are freshly laundered and not only do a blow dry but flat iron it too!  it’s a good hair day.  i even broke out some concealer to attempt to hide the bags under my eyes!  if scott had been home to see me he would have wondered who was in his house!  so i finish off the face and hair with a sweater set and floofy dress pants.  i’m thinking i look pretty fine compared to the wreck that was here 45 minutes ago!

so i work the funeral.  nice crowd-about 120-150 people.  i greeted many of them as i hadn’t seen some for a while.  i had a nice time catching up with the other kitchen wenches.  after 4 hours, i zip on home and decide to rip over to the clubhouse for some stitching.  i go to change into work clothes and realize……wait for it……..wait……….

that i’ve spent the afternoon with hundreds of people while i was wearing my pants backwards.  that’s right.  seriously!  who does that?  apparently me.  now granted, the pants are the floofy slinky kind with no zippers or buttons but still.  pop.  that’s my self-confidence bubble bursting.  i’m no longer allowed in public unless someone checks me over.

16 Responses to “pop”

  1. AllenQuilts December 12, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Oh lordy, Kay…rotfpimplol. I sure do hope I get to meet up with you in “really” life someday.

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 8:31 am #

      i imagine even if you are PIMP, that your pants are on frontwards! showoff!

  2. Becca December 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    OMG Kay! Hahahahahahaa. I came back here to get another load of those cupcakes(I am dieting can you tell?) and read this!I now have to leave before I pee my pants.Lol. Thus the reason I love your bolg.hahahahaha

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 8:33 am #

      well, have another cupcake dearie! and go change your pants.

  3. grapegrower December 13, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    i will send u a sign that my mother made for me many many years ago. u can wear it around your neck too. it said “i dressed myself this morning”

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 8:33 am #

      i believe i need that!

      • grapegrower December 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

        i think i remember telling u or maybe sybil did that i couldn’t get the wallet out of the front pocket of my shorts at the shops one day. turned out they were on backwards too. so dont feel disheartened, u r in good company. and on second thoughts u can’t have my sign. i might still need it.

  4. Jan December 13, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    ROTFLOL I have no advice. Just laughing with you!! It does sound like something that would happen around here though if I ever did leave the house….

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

      your toe will heal soon and you too might wear something backwards!

  5. Diana W December 13, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    I have put my underwear on backwards…but never my pants…you crack me up! Love you Kay…don’t change.

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

      backwards underwear. what a “crack” up!

  6. Christine Olson December 13, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    LMAO!!!! I must be your long lost twin. I attended a band rehearsal looking pretty darn spiffy, I thought. About half way through I slipped away to the restroom. Discovered I was wearing my sweater…backwards! Sigh. (at least it wasn’t inside out. I’ve done that on occasion as well.)

    A kindred spirit! (Hey, the joy of getting older may be that I don’t stress long over that stuff anymore. At least I’m breathing! ) 😉

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

      ha! between the two of us we’re completely dressed…pants and sweater…backwards. 🙂

  7. sammi December 13, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Oh golly !!!! I cannot believe the tales you tell on yourself. And I love it !!

    • myolivebranch December 13, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

      and look what good company i have! besides, if i didn’t tell on myself right quick, someone else would tell on me. and people LIE!

  8. princess carina December 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    I think having children is what does it to you… seriously I have never had issues with dressing until I had kids. Since then I have worn my underwear inside out (and not because I didn’t have clean ones) and worn a new shirt with the tag hanging out the back of it all day long! And no one told me!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

