lefse day!

26 Nov

the girls and i are “trying” to continue a peterson family tradition of lefse making.  we’re thinking our “niche” is in “artful” lefses.

i call this “poodle in a tutu”

this is a tribute to “marshmallow” man from ghost buster’s fame.  it wasn’t easy getting the “eyes and smile” in just the right spot.  ok, it wasn’t hard either….it just happened.

and finally, “flour power”.

 

once again, i have a whole new appreciation for my SIL debbie who for years and years, did all the potato cooking, dough making, ball forming and rolling of the “family lefse”.  even when i’m in charge, i get relegated to flipping and packaging…..

 

we’ve still got a ways to go on the learning curve.  according to the recipe, we should have had about 15-18 dozen lefse.  we ended with 6.  hmmmmm

 

ps if my excessive use of quotation marks is annoying you, visualize me  doing THIS (you know, holding up 2 fingers on each hand and “quoting” with them.  yeah….so little time, so many people to annoy.

10 Responses to “lefse day!”

  1. Becca November 27, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    hahahahahahaha. I just choked on a potato chip! You are awesome kay!

    • myolivebranch November 28, 2009 at 8:21 am #

      i usually go for the “spew” of coffee on the keyboard. choking on a chip seems a bit dangerous rather than just annoying!

  2. Jan November 27, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    It looks like you all have a ton of fun!!! And in the end that’s probably what is really important 😉

    • myolivebranch November 28, 2009 at 8:22 am #

      we did have fun and considering i don’t even like lefse, i didn’t really mind the funny shapes.

  3. Jody November 27, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    You’re a better woman than me!! I love eating lefse, but have never made it–looks too labor intensive for me. Don’t tell ANY of my family I inherited the lefse griddle!! (or, most importantly–the family recipe!!!)

    • myolivebranch November 28, 2009 at 8:23 am #

      an INHERITED griddle? those make the best lefse! and a family recipe?!?! some day you’ll have to give it a try.

  4. D. @ Outside Oslo November 27, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    Your commentary on the shapes is great! Kinda like watching the clouds and imagining them as shapes.

    I really think the best part of making lefse is doing it with other people, and having it be a project and a tradition to share together.

    It is a lot of work, but if one approaches it in a lighthearted way, it can be a lot of fun.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way. I hope you’ll come back soon!

    • myolivebranch November 28, 2009 at 8:24 am #

      we do the cloud watching too! it is fun building and/or continuing a tradition.

  5. Christine Olson November 28, 2009 at 4:15 am #

    LMAO! My dear SIL make lefse and does it superbly! So why should I ever consider taking that away from her. 😉 She gets to keep that job.

    As far as annoying people…I’ve run out of time these days to do much of that. But wait until I no longer have teenagers under foot. Imagine the fun! ROFLOL!

    I’ll have to have you join me, I think. 😀 (BTW, the d o g looks sooo cute! Has he relandscaped the yard yet?)

    • myolivebranch November 28, 2009 at 8:25 am #

      how sad. no time to annoy people. LOL. a bit of re-landscaping has been done….mostly at the kid’s house. a couple holes here and there.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

