down and out

11 Oct

but not dead.  at least not yet.  and i don’t think i will be.  6 days of not feeling well.  this morning i woke up with a headache and ear ache to add to the sore throat and coughing that i’ve been dealing with for several days.  enuf!  i say to myself.  go thee to a physician.

so i did.  i arrived at acute care 3 minutes after it opened and was cheerfully handed a card reflecting #20.  what ho?  how did you seat 20 patients before me in 3 minutes.  oh well, too sick to wonder about it for more than a brief moment.  i sit.  i wait.  i continue to sit and wait.  127 minutes later my number is up.  i’m weighed and measured, blood pressured and pulsed.  and it’s back to the lobby for me because there are no rooms open.  i sit.  and i wait.  i’m called back in to sit and wait.  yea!  the doc is here.  i stick out my tongue and say ahhhh.  i breathe.  i’m poked and prodded and pronounced alive on arrival.  2 infections (1 raging and one getting a good start).  some antibiotics and cough med w/codene and i’m on my happy way.

i’m just gonna burrow down for the next several hours.  plan is to wake up 100% well tomorrow am.

15 Responses to “down and out”

  1. Vicki W October 11, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. TeresaL October 11, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    Kay, hope you are feeling better very soon!

  3. Jody October 11, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    Kay!! I wondered where you were! Take care (and do you think i may get ahead of you in the mystery?? Nah, not gonna happen )

  4. Jan October 11, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    Oy! That’s a long time to be down and out!!! I hope those meds kick in quickly!!!!

  5. Lynn Douglass October 11, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    I’m glad you finally got help. I’m sorry you are so under the weather. Rest, and get better soon!

  6. Christine Olson October 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    A 2+ hour wait??? Good grief! Hope you start feeling better very soon. Lots and lots of rest will help those antibiotics do their job. Hope you don’t have to babysit while recovering.

  7. AllenQuilts October 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    Holy CRUD! Get well soon, Super Cool Kay!

  8. Nancy H October 11, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    I hope you told your Doc your hair turned pink while you waited all that time. Feel better !

  9. Becca October 11, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Sheesh you poor thing ((((())))) Hot butter rums! They will help.Although not while you take the codine.That may not be good. I swear I would be in there begging for one of those shots they gave me last year when I had that bad sinus infection.Knocked me out good for 24 hours!

  10. sybil October 12, 2009 at 4:02 am #

    I hope your plan worked.

  11. myolivebranch October 12, 2009 at 5:44 am #

    i fell a little short of the 100% plan but not much! amazing what some sleep and drugs and your good wishes can do for a body. thanks everyone!

  12. CarolK October 12, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Just rest and get better! Your writing is wonderful – even when you are really, really sick.

  13. freda1951 October 12, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Hope you are feeling better Kay. Swine flu is raging through our clinic. We saw 14 cases just yesterday. I sure hope it stays away from me!!!!

  14. AllenQuilts October 12, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    Ohhh…I just popped back in here and have to say I’m liking the sound of Becca’s advice. I’ve never had one, but it sounds yummy.

  15. runandsewquilts October 13, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Get well quick!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

