here today

30 Sep

and gone tomorrow. that’s what it seems like. kris and neil were here for most of september. it went way too fast. we mostly hung out and did famdamly things but we also went to the sidewalk arts festival and to the state quilt show. BONUS TIP: it’s illegal to drive through the unauthorized “driveways” on the interstate unless of course you are authorized. and if you DO drive through and are NOT authorized, make sure the car behind you isn’t a highway patrol car. i’m just saying, wouldn’t you rather spend $105 on fabric?!?!

i also managed (just barely) to quilt something for kris:
kris1 this is a rainbow kit from a few years ago by Starr Designs. kris enlarged it with the checkerboard and outside borders.

kris2

i quilted it using small splash by willow leaf studio

kris5

and used perma core thread in olive drab color

kris3

kris used a wide batik backing fabric. she prewashed it and i had beautiful stitches!

kris4

we used quilter’s dream PUFF for the batting. a bit more loft than cotton or 100% poly. yet very light weight. NICE!

there you have it!

7 Responses to “here today”

  1. Snort September 30, 2009 at 6:23 am #

    I can’t believe you did that! Did Scott give you a bad time when he found out you received a ticket? And did you purchase fabric from the vendors anyway? I would. :o) Kris – your quilt is lovely…. stunning. I’ve made that one a few times and have loved every one of them. Miss you. Hope your trip home is safe.

    • myolivebranch September 30, 2009 at 6:31 am #

      i did managed to find some $$ to exchange with the vendors for fabric and books! scott is sooo busy i put him on a need to know basis so…….

  2. Jan September 30, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    Hands down I would rather spend that on fabric!! Love Kris’s quilt!!! Hope the house doesn’t seem too big for too long!

  3. Christine Olson September 30, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    LOL! Yep, that and also never make a u-turn in the middle of a block no matter how wide the street or how many people in the neighborhood do it, at least don’t do it when there is a cop coming in the opposite direction. 😐 (Learned that one years ago.)

    Glad you had a wonderful time with the sis. But now you can focus on having fun with the dogs! 😉

    Love the quilt, BTW.

  4. Becca September 30, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    I have to laugh because WH and I had an argument about this very subject while visiting your lovely state.Haahaha. I cant wait to tell him when he gets off the phone! Well not about the ticket part. I will leave important names out.Ü

    LOVE that quilt! Really really LOVE that quilt!

  5. Karen October 1, 2009 at 6:06 am #

    Beautiful quilt – I love Splash – it is one of my favourite patterns to quilt, I have quilted it on quite a few modern quilts.

  6. sybil October 2, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    You did a great job quilting it….as always! When I displayed my quilts at a wine event a few months back, several quilters commented on the lovely quilting and could they have her name. In my best pompous uppity quilters voice (chuckle) I said had all my quilting done by an AMERICAN quilter who just happened to be my sista. They all thought I was the luckiest – I agree!

    Thanks for fitting my quilting into your schedule. I can’t wait to bind it and get it on the bed.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

