mish mash!

19 Aug

i finally finished a quilt.  now i need some opinions.  i’ve pretty much made up my mind, but am just wondering what you folks think.  here’s the quilt:

string1

and a little close up:

string very simple quilting.  just 3 concentric circles in each square.  i think i used quilters dream puff for the batting.  the fabrics were not prewashed so it still got a bit of the “loved” look after washing the quilt.  the ric rac also wrinkled up some .

so here is where your opinion comes in.  i finished this thinking to give it to my newest great nephew.  i showed it to scott for the standard “ooooh and ahhhh” and he thinks it’s too yellow for a boy.  what do you think?  appropriate for a boy?  or no?

moving on to other business…..

i had my 30 year class reunion last weekend.

cake!confession time….  i haven’t been to one since our 5th.  and i have no good reason for not going.  i just wasn’t “into” it.  i am still local so no travel plans had to be made etc.  for whatever reason, i decided to go this time.  still wasn’t overly into it.  guess i don’t think i’ve aged well!  what if they notice i would only be able to get my pom pom uniform on one leg (and i’d need to butter the leg to do that!)?  at least most of the wrinkles that have showed up are plumped up with chub. does my lipstick look like the black writing on the cake after a while?  gads.  i’m so vapid.

so i went.  chub, wrinkles and self doubts hanging out there for everyone to see.

and i had a ridiculously good time.  until 3 in the morning.  the biggest thing i noticed was that the “cliques” were gone.  everyone was interested in talking with everyone else -jocks, nerds, cheerleaders, townies and even us valley girls!  and my oh my.  the boys of 1979 have grown into some HANDSOME men of 2009.  yum!  and us chicks?  we still got it going on too!

so here’s something odd i’ve noticed on my morning drive.

oneshoe hmmm.  did you lose a shoe?  is this a “marker” for some underground corn field?  you know, like the quilts used to be for the underground railroad?

*
*

and several miles farther down the road:

one shoe 2

HUH?  well buckle my shoes boys.  it’s another shoe.  is it the mate?  or another clue.  you be the judge.

and just because, here’s some backyard fun:

by1 so relaxed with a snack of rope on the side.

by2 i SEE you.  i mean i HEAR you!

21 Responses to “mish mash!”

  1. carolkimble August 19, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    I think it is beautiful for a baby boy! The colors are soft and yummy. I love the quilt and would love to make one like it!

    • myolivebranch August 19, 2009 at 10:48 am #

      thanks carol. i think it’s from an evelyn sloppy (strips and strings) book. not that her’s is the only method but that’s what i used.

  2. Vicki W August 19, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    I mean, really. Did you HAVE to put that 1979 on the cake photo out there to point out that I graduated HS 31 years ago! It has never crossed my mind until you said 30th and I saw that cake! LOL! I hated high school and most of the people. I went to my 10th and that was the END of that.

    On the baby quilt. As long as the boy is a baby I think it is quite appropriate. For a 2 year old, maybe not. By the time this baby is 2 he will have selected this as his blankie and it won’t matter at all what color it is.

    • myolivebranch August 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

      that was one thing that seemed odd to me….i LOVED school and yet avoided the reunions. i’m odd i guess!

      the boy is a baby. only weeks old.

  3. Jody August 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    I’m with Vicki about the quilt–and you are a youngster!!I’m closing in on 38 years out of high school!! And I found the sames thing–the nerds fit right in and are rather hunky!!

    • myolivebranch August 19, 2009 at 11:29 pm #

      hey thanks jody! me a youngster? you’re my newest favorite!

  4. freda1951 August 19, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    Kay, I know about the chub at a reunion. Not fun and I graduated 43, oh my goodness, years ago. The quilt will be fine for a baby boy.

    • myolivebranch August 19, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

      i think so too freda.

  5. Suzanne August 19, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Mark just had his 20 year reunion, mine is next year. I think that everyone was talking to everyone else, but he did notice that most of the conversation revolved around beer and bars, and that wasn’t much different than it had been 20 years ago.

    I like Vicki’s answer: for a baby boy, I’d say it’s fine, but for a bigger boy, I’d be inclined to agree with Scott, that it might be too much yellow. No matter what people would like us to believe, boys and girls ARE different — neither gender is “better” — just different.

    • myolivebranch August 19, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

      beer and bars huh? i didn’t hear much about that but i heard tales of “pasture parties” and even some stories involving me that i had no recollection of!

      thanks for the opine on the quilt!

  6. Becca August 19, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    I agree with ALL the above!

    My reunion would be no fun at all. I was homeschooled.Lol

    Lovin the little boy pics.Ü

    • myolivebranch August 20, 2009 at 12:14 am #

      i guess that would make you the class clown and the valedictorian!

  7. sybil August 19, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    I always wonder about those lone shoes I see in the road…..I mean….how do you lose ONE shoe? Then there’s the whole tree issue….do they really move closer to each other at night when we’re not looking in order to have a chat with each other?

    The quilt is lovely – in spite of the rickrack. 🙂

    Raspberry the boys for me (on their lower backs this time).

    • myolivebranch August 20, 2009 at 12:14 am #

      you’re such a duck

      • sybil August 20, 2009 at 12:21 am #

        quack quack

  8. Jan August 20, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    I think the quilt is just fine for a little boy!!! I think the back yard pics are adorable!!!! I’m so glad you enjoyed your reunion!! I think I’m approaching 30 year reunion within the next couple of years…. but I have yet to go to one. Thanks for finding my shoes! That was one wild pasture party… I have some wonderful pics of you on the tractor…

  9. ramona-quilter August 20, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    OK, I love the quilt and the yellow is fine. The rick rack and cool.
    Now about the reunion. You guys are rookies. If you feel old, how about the class of 66, “love booze, sex, kicks, we’re the class of 66”. Ah, those were the (hippie) days.

    • sybil August 20, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

      I always waned to be a hippie…..

  10. grapegrower August 20, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    agree with cliff……a bit girly

  11. Jami August 20, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    I think it will work well for an infant boy…but not so great for one that is a toddler. I LOVE the rickrack!
    Now class reunions…I’ll be coming up on the 40th in a couple 3 years! Man that makes me feel old! 🙂 Haven’t been to the lasst two…didn’t see much of a point. Still the same old, same old! 😦

  12. Nancy H August 22, 2009 at 8:39 pm #

    Oh, that graduation year looks familiar

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

