qr……quilt related!

29 Apr

believe it or not, i am a quilter.  not that there is much recent proof of that.  BUT  here is something to bolter my cred.

karens4 doesn’t that look yummy in the natural light?

karens3 a bit more of the quilt.  i used 2 battings in this.  quilters dream cotton and wool.  the wool is scrumptious to quilt.

karens2 a bit hard to see but this is the back

karens1

lovin’ the wool.  great definition in the quilting.  customer is happy.  i’m happy.  next!

9 Responses to “qr……quilt related!”

  1. sybil April 30, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    Gorgeous work, Kay. Very traponto-ish looking. Makes me want to make one just like it so I have it quilted just like that! Can’t go wrong with a 9 patch, eh?

  2. CarolK April 30, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    Beautiful quilting – perfect!

  3. Vicki W April 30, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    That quilt is beautiful!!

  4. Karen May 1, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    I’m the lucky customer! And yes…. it is as beautiful as it looks in the photos! Now to get the binding done and give it to the new owner…..

  5. Christine Olson May 1, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    What an absolutely yummy quilt!!! That’s it. I AM going to order some wool batt. I love the look it gives when doubled with a flatter batt.

    Great quilting job, Kay!

  6. grapegrower May 2, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    i like them too.
    i remember the trip to duluth where you attended a class for this type of quilting.
    maybe the co driver could get one done one day.
    there was a time when i thought batting was what was done on a cricket pitch (or a baseball diamond) and binding was what happened in a rugby scrum.
    how things have changed!

  7. Pat May 3, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    I bow at your feet. My hand work is terrible. I get so impatient. I don’t know if I could work my way out of purgatory by sewing good stiches.
    Thanks for showing it. I am inspired.

  8. Ramona Quilter May 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    That’s got to be cotton sateen. Is it? It really is gorgeous.

  9. kathie May 5, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    double nine patches are one of my favorite blocks
    OH this is beautiful quilted, amazing job
    thank you so much for sharing these pictures.
    curious how did you layer the two batts? never heard of any one doing that before! great idea if you think about it!
    wool on top closest to the quilt top for more definition?
    thanks Kathie

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

