do you ever want to slap yourself silly?

8 Feb

sometimes i really bug myself.

a goal of mine is to become the queen of fudge. it’s going to be my specialty if it kills me.

so i volunteered a box of fudge for a little party that suzanne hosted over on the MQR list. i was secretly hoping it would go to someone that has winter weather. umm nope. sharon won it and she lives in texas. now i’m glad sharon won because she’s been craving fudge lately and she’s really nice too. ok, i decided i would just have to suck up the cost to mail it overnight as the texas temps were in the 70’s. so i made a batch of almond joy fudge and poured it all into one container. i checked online and with the post office and figured it was going to cost me between $15 and $20 to mail it overnight express. i was ok with that. figuring i should have thought about the temperature concerns before volunteering. so friday i march myself into the post office and am promptly informed that my little batch of fudge that fits in a box the size of a vcr tape weighs not 1 pound, not 2 pounds but a smidge over 3 pounds! holy sugar batman! fudge is dense! so yeah, now it’s gonna cost me over $30 to mail it express overnight. i debate for 3.5 seconds and decide priority(less than $10) will be just fine. sharon should get it monday. the postman even agrees with me that it will be fine. he also offers to take the fudge off my hands if i don’t want to mail it today.

so i’ve been fretting and stewing since about 2 hours after i left the post office. and i’ve been checking the texas weather regularly. wondering where my little box of fudge is at now. is is sitting in a nice cool warehouse or is it in a hotbox? beating myself up and thinking i should have gone ahead with the $30 mailing. and then whipping myself with a wet noodle because that is RIDICULOUS! if the priority mailing doesn’t work, i can always make another batch and THEN send it express or make some other arrangement with sharon. high temp today was 74 in texas. tomorrow is also 74. tues is 77. gosh i hope it isn’t delayed until tuesday. wed is 72. maybe i should have waited until tomorrow to mail it so she’d get it on wed.

criminey i’m annoying. i wonder what time sharon’s mail comes on monday……..

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER smack. i guess it’s slapsgiving around here.

UPDATE:  sharon received the fudge yesterday in good condition and she likes it!  i wonder what i’ll stew about today…….

4 Responses to “do you ever want to slap yourself silly?”

  1. Jan February 8, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    Oh you’ve been to Thanksgiving at my in-laws I see 😉 It is supposed to be cold here later this week LOL

  2. sybil February 8, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    You’ve got serious issues, girl friend! (teehee)

  3. freda1951 February 9, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    I want to slap myself silly several times a day. Sharon will eat her fudge with a spoon if she has to, I’m sure.

  4. Becca February 10, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Ah the slap myself silly game. Know it and play it myself everday! Just dont slap too hard otherwise you may have a hard time explaing why your face is red!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

