prayer shawl #1 bites the dust

5 Oct

so yeah, on that little retreat last weekend, remember i said we did a little yarning. karen taught me how to purl. it’s simple people. it’s like a backwards knit. anyhoo, i can now knit AND purl. and that’s all i need to know to do a prayer shawl.

so i get started. i start with a little prayer for the person who will receive the shawl and add just a little “please help me do this” plea to the end of the prayer. i’m knitting and i’m purling. 3 knits then 3 purls. i decided to make it bigger than the 57 stitches wide so i’m doing 99. i don’t always end up in a 3 though when i’m done with the row. folks, that means i’m either dropping stitches or adding stitches. but i’m such a happy knitter, i just go with the flow. it’s kinda hard to keep track of 3 knits and 3 purls with all the chattering going on not to mention the adult beverages. i make the decision that i’m going to call this a free-form prayer shawl. so my knits and purls don’t match up and make an actual design, the yarn is beautimous and i’m having a fab time with my girls. lots of love and good energy is going into this shawl.

retreat ends and i have loads of knitting and purling to do before it’s finished. so i do some in the evenings. after each row i have to admire my work. crap. how did that huge hole get there….ummm must be a dropped stitch or something. i should count my stitches. 107. are you kidding me? i look it over good and decide i can fix the hole after i get it done but i need to be more careful. so i start trying to get back to my 99 stitches. yeah. so after several rows of reducing stitches, i now have a huge wart in the side of the shawl where i went from 107 stitches to 99. more crap. oh, well, the person who gets it will probably not even notice. the yarn is making beautiful rows of color. #$*%&( another hole. WTFungus happened HERE? oh well, maybe i can add a bead there to cover it. by now my smile is not quite reaching my eyes and there is a bit less love and even a smidge of hostile energy going into the quilt now.

fast forward a few nights and kris finds me unraveling 15 or so inches of knitting and purling. she’s like “what ho? what’s going on here? stop. wait! you can fix it” i am calm. i am centered. i reply:

“there is no way i can give away a prayer shawl over which i’ve dropped the f-bomb three times.”

and so i start over. calmly. gently. slowly.

and then i got a cold sore. $(%(*)#_@& karma.

7 Responses to “prayer shawl #1 bites the dust”

  1. Suzanne October 5, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    yeah, i think the use of the f-bomb negates the purposes of a prayer shawl.

    i hope the next, kinder, gentler version goes better for you.

  2. Nancy H October 5, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    Hey, just throw one more prayer on the shawl & you’ll be ok. I have to add that prayer to my list as well. 🙂

  3. Jan October 5, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    ROTFLOL Hmmm… well…. I say it’s a good prayer shawl either way because everyone already knows you have a big & good heart. 😀 You’re just human like the rest of us!!!!

  4. Becca October 5, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    (((((((((((hugs)))))))) I am still at knitting washcloth level so I am in awe of anything beyond!

    I posted my recipe for the receiving blankets. Easy peasy and super fast.

  5. Gayle October 5, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    Just last nite I printed off a pattern for a crocheted prayer shawl. I can hardly wait to see if I have better Karma than you do!

    I was sure you could quilt the knitted piece into submission, or add ANGELina or maybe a bit of applique to fix it?

    nah, I woulda started over or thrown it away too.

    Hey, maybe I should make one for you, you send me yours and neither of us will be TOO embarassed?! lol

    ok, serious question…. what weight or kind of yarn is one to make a prayer shawl out of? i need to find some.

    Gayle

  6. AllenQuilts October 5, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    Poor Kay…that’s too familiar of a story…been there, done that.

  7. Mary October 9, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    I tend to lose count when I’m knitting if I’m not really careful so when I decided to bring along yarn for a prayer shawl on my trip to Denmark – I decided I’d just make it in garter stitch (all knit) rather than knit 3 purl 3 – it’s been way easier to put it down and pick it back up without worrying whether to knit or purl.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

