so it’s almost thursday….

18 Jun

and this just made me smile.

i getting gas today ($93 to fill the tank thank you very much a personal high for me) and i really love my gas station. everyone is so friendly. well exept the one guy but he’s a curmudgeon so it’s cute anyway. anyway they pump my gas for me and wash my windshield. rain or shine, sleet or snow, i get to sit comfortably in my vehicle while they gas me up. love it.

anyway, while that does make me smile, that is the norm. what gave me the giggles was the car next to me. and the 2 little old ladies that were inside the car. these gals were old. one had a little pink scratchy roller (the kind that you hold in place with a large plastic toothpick like thing with a knob on the end) in her hair right by her ear. i only saw one, but i’m guessing there was another one on the other side of her head. by her other ear. they each had on a wild large print in your face design top. like big cabbage roses in mutiples colors that in no way would ever be found in nature. the other had some geometric design to it that even the most advanced spirograph would have had trouble replicating. it looked like someone’s big box of 64 crayons had gotten in the wash with their shirts. to compliment their shirts and give the ensemble just a bit more MORE, they were each wearing huge earrings. one had danglies that actually touched her shoulders! looked like they weighed a ton too as her lobe was kinda stretched out. the other went with a more subtle look (perhaps because her shirt was wilder) and had huge gold hoops with several beads on the ring. i hesitate to even write this as i wonder what people will think of me that i obviously stared at them in order to get this much detail…oh well, we’re not talking about me right. anyhoo, when she would laugh and carry on, the beads on her earrings sort of kept time with the waddle of her double and triple chins. and did they ever laugh and carry on. i wish they’d have had their windows down so i could have eavesdropped.

pretty sure they are artists. the back seat was filled with 2 big overstuffed suitcases. the “way back” had a bunch of stuff in it but the only thing i recognized was several canvasses. the top one was blank.

i think these two crazy broads were on a road trip to take a painting class somewhere.

i hope i grow up to be one of them someday.

6 Responses to “so it’s almost thursday….”

  1. Lynn Douglass June 18, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    I love it! When I see gals like these, I always think, “That’s how I want to be!” Thanks for sharing the story!

  2. Christine Olson June 18, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    YES!!! Sign me up! ROFLOL!!!

  3. Snort June 19, 2008 at 6:15 am #

    OMG. Way too funny. That’s us some day. Well, actually we act like that sometimes now, minus the wild clothes and earrings. But that’s probably just a matter of time.

  4. Snort June 19, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    Remember the Barbie car at the Mall of America? Need I say more?

  5. freda1951 June 19, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    Now I have the giggles. Thanks Kay.

  6. Jan June 19, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    Now they just sound like tons of fun!! I want to grow up to be just like them too! Thank you for the morning smile!! 😀

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

