groceries….ugh.

12 Jun

yeah.  so i’m back from the grocery store (did you notice that i left for the store?)  and went over budget again.  i decided to try to see if we could keep the groceries at $100 per week.  i have never really tracked what i spend.  i just think i SHOULD be able to do for $100 don’t you?  there’s only 2 of us.  what is the big challenge here?  idk but last week i went over by $5 no biggie and i did buy a magazine so that probably did it.  this week i’m $70 over.  huh?


yeah, i did buy 2 magazines….Quilter’s home where my coolest online friend adam chenevert has an article about 7 deadly sins quilter’s style and McCalls Quilting which promises 71 fun ideas for fabric therapy. 


i think we all agree i need therapy so i’m going with fabric therapy……sounds fun even!


meanwhile, i have to figure out which “budget” item i can skim $70 off of this week.


so i don’t like all the little gimmicks stores have for you to “earn” a discount.  i detest keeping track of a little punch card.  even when it means free fabric.  but the grocery store is doing a promotion that if you shop every week and get punched, you could win a big tv and $1000.  this should be simple.  i do shop every week.  do you think i could find the danged punch card?  uh no.  i could not.


however, the flip side of being scattered is that i found $86 in my “card” holder when i was looking for the punch card.  color me pleased!


and yeah, no that is not covering the extra groceries.  that is FREE money and as the rules state, “free money is not to be spent on necessities.  it must be frittered away.  spent on making one smile.  you can not spend it on something that is on sale, discounted, buy one get one free etc.  you can buy an experience, a treat, or a trinket.  you can splurge, indulge or spoil.  you can not save it, be sensible or spend it responsibly.”

5 Responses to “groceries….ugh.”

  1. Christine Olson June 12, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    Ooo, punch cards…YUCK! Can never find one when I need it, so I collect cards. Then I eventually consolidate all of them but usually not until my coin purse refuses to close because of…punch cards!

    I prefer the electronic tracking device (yeah, big brother watches us, so what!) at one of our local stores. About twice a year I get a special coupon for 50% at the grocery store. It’s quite generous, it’s 50% off anything and everything…except adult beverages!

    I almost always use that coupon to stock my freezer with meat. Hey, it’s cheaper than Costco and I don’t have to repack the meat to freeze it!

    Have fun frittering away the FREE money. I usually find my free money in peoples jean pockets as I am doing the laundering. (I consider it a tip for my slave labor. 😉 )

  2. Kelly June 12, 2008 at 6:41 pm #

    Well, since Mark just cleaned out the frige and has a 13 gallon kitchen trash bag full of old yuck stuff, I best not be going to the store!!! Although, my fridge is now empty!! I did see a jar of olives I was looking for a couple of weeks ago and I found the nice big candy bars that you left for your smores at the lake – maybe if you’re lucky, they’ll be some left when I come to pick up the baptismal quilt. Can’t wait to see it.
    Aleycia said Miles was close to 9lbs!!! Yeah!!!

  3. freda1951 June 12, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    I love free money Kay. Fritter, fritter, fritter!!!

  4. Adam Chenevert June 14, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    thanks for the shout out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. free money « myOlivebranch - June 20, 2008

    […] 2008 free money Posted by myolivebranch under Uncategorized   so remember when i found FREE MONEY […]

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

