still no lilacs

24 May

but look what scott brought in last night. crab apple blossoms. they smell sooo good.

and another yummy smell in my house this morning is THIS:

i’m almost afraid to eat it because usually things either TASTE good or LOOK good. this one looks good AND smells good. it’s rhubarb cake.

8 Responses to “still no lilacs”

  1. AllenQuilts May 24, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    I haven’t smelled crab apple blossoms. My Russian olive tree has bloomed out and it sure does smell good. I guess I need to try some rhubarb recipes…you & Diane F say it’s good, so it must be…I’ve never had any.

  2. freda1951 May 24, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    I will have to try some rhubarb too Kay. The cake looks delicious.

  3. runandsewquilts May 24, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Oh, that rhubarb cake looks so good. Trust me, don’t take the first bite. I ate almost the whole cake a few weeks ago!
    AnnMarie

  4. Carol May 24, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    The rhubarb cake looks wonderful! We have no lilacs here in the Bozeman area yet either, but Missoula had theirs ready to bloom when we cam through yesterday. It is a late, late spring here. Love the wisdom you shared on another blog!

  5. Christine Olson May 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    It’s been a very late spring here, too. My wisteria is finally blooming and smelling delicious! Hope your lilacs will bloom soon. Isn’t it interesting how you look to certain benchmarks in order to declare spring as officially arriving.

    Mmmm…rhubarb anything is wonderful, oh Wise One! 😉 Seriously, though, you are a pretty smart cookie…and funny. Makes reading your posts a real pleasure! 8)

  6. grapegrower May 24, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    aaaaaaawwwwww….be still my heart!
    (about the apple blossom that is….not the rhubarb pie)

  7. myolivebranch May 27, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    ann-marie, you are so right! the cake is gone as is the crisp! but i have another bag of picked rhubarb just waiting…..

    carol & christine….wisdom coming from me? that’s a good one! but thanks all the same!

    freda and randi-you must go out (today if possible) and get you some rhubarb! and then pucker up baby!

    and yea! the lilacs are blooming!

  8. Diane F May 29, 2008 at 11:52 pm #

    OK, now I need the recipe for that cake. I have orders to pick up more rhubarb tomorrow evening and want to try something new! Care to share????? My lilacs are blooming too and I would love to bring some in the house, but alas the make me sneeze.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

