challenge quilt

31 Mar

the longarm group i belong to has a new challenge. We each started with a hunk of black fabric. we could do whatever our little hearts desired with said fabric….any techniques, any embellishment, any shape, any size, any threads, battings etc. it just had to technically be a whole cloth quilt.

i had a grand idea when we started this challenge. but it’s fairly intensive and i am running out of time so enter plan B.

i spied a fabric in my stash that would be fun to use as the backing and also to use as a quilting pattern by quilting from the back. here’s the fabric and my quilting.

challenge1.jpg

so quilting from the backing fabric and using my channel locks, i made a center square and 2 border sections (actually i made more but they were later ripped out….i’m a girl! i can change my mind if i want to!)

after quilting the flowers using several colors of thread, i flipped it right side up and quilted the borders.

challenge2.jpg and a close up: challenge3.jpg

and while i was hoping i was done, it was not to be. i felt the quilt was kinda blah….not as vibrant as i would like so i started digging around.

first i found a yummy skein of wool yarn. aren’t the colors perfect? i decided to define my border sections with it:

challenge5.jpg

and lived with that for about 10 minutes before deciding i still needed something more. i found a bag of buttons and walaa!

challenge4.jpg there is the pop of color i was looking for. bonus: it covers up the thread build up that the flower petals created.

i lived with this for few days before deciding to go for it.challenge6.jpg

my friend volunteered to bind it for me (okay that’s not exactly how it happened but it sounds nicer than blackmail) and now here it is all done. just need to slap on a couple of labels and my challenge it completed. i’ve titled it “sometimes cheaters do win”

and it’s probably a little anticlimatic for you since the “process” pictures pretty much show you what it will look like when it’s done….but I’M EXCITED! mostly that it’s done. 🙂

challenge7.jpg

the pic is a little blown out and i’ve discovered some snow prints from the outside session but you get the idea!

10 Responses to “challenge quilt”

  1. AllenQuilts March 31, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    I love it!!

  2. runandsewquilts March 31, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    Oh, I just love everything about this quilt! You are way too creative!
    AnnMarie

  3. Jan March 31, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    Oh I saw this in progress and loved it, now I love it even more!! That border is perfect!!! Absolutely perfect!! Great job!

  4. Ann March 31, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    I think your quilt is beautiful. You should win a prize.

  5. Vicki W March 31, 2008 at 6:36 pm #

    Kay, it turned out great!

  6. Christine Olson March 31, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    LOVE it!!!!

  7. Heather P March 31, 2008 at 8:08 pm #

    I love it, Kay! It’s a very creative quilt, and thoroughly delightful!

  8. mywhisperingpines April 1, 2008 at 1:43 am #

    Oh my god I love it! I wish I were half as creative! If I don’t have a pattern, there isn’t a quilt!

  9. Sybil April 1, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    You’ve come a long way baby since putting those sleeves in upside-down years ago! Who’d a thunk it? You have SO surpassed me in quilting creativity….you continue to amaze me.

  10. myolivebranch April 1, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    thanks guys! i really appreciate the back pats. 🙂

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

