thank heaven for little boys

12 Mar

and sometimes even big boys.

this is what i found when i went over to the shop sunday night at 5pm to get in a few hours of quilting.

switch.jpg

you can’t really tell since this is a still photo and not a video but it’s broken (another obvious clue that it is broken would be the fact that it is currently OUTSIDE the machine.)  the little flippy thing just flips up and down.  it’s a fairly important part on my longarm machine.  IT’S THE ON AND OFF SWITCH !  and it broke in the off position.  when i left the machine saturday night it turned off just fine.  so how is when i come back on sunday at 5pm (just after all the potential stores that might have a replacement part close) it’s broken? it’s machine gremlins i bet.

thank goodness scott has a degree in “jack of all trades master of none”.  he was able to bypass the switch so that when i plug the machine in it automatically turns on.  i have now procured a switch that i THINK will work and this weekend i am hopeful that scott will remove the baling twine and silver tape (this is required for any and all “fixes”) and put in my replacement switch.

so yeah, that was nice and i should now do something nice for him.  what could it be?  thinking…..thinking….thinking……i got nothin.

3 Responses to “thank heaven for little boys”

  1. Jan March 13, 2008 at 12:35 am #

    Kay, I wouldn’t want to rain on the parade… but could that be mimicing a power surge that might cause you worse issues???

  2. Kelly March 13, 2008 at 3:31 am #

    Yeah – score one for the Mr. (he’s way behind so he needs to do a lot more to get caught up but it is a start!!!) I didn’t hear any cussing up my way so must still be a working!!! I’m so glad you reminded me that I won that whole cloth thingy that I had forgotten about from a long time ago. Hmmmm where to put it.

  3. myolivebranch March 13, 2008 at 2:59 pm #

    ummmmm…..i dunno know. i did call the company and since the power is coming through my surge protector i should be fine. knock knock knock on wood with my fingers crossed, tying a knot in my hankerchief, picking up a penny, and keeping my shoes off the table. 🙂

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

