i don’t get it.

25 Feb

let’s start this post with all agreeing that i am of average intelligence. in other words, i ain’t stupid.

so oprah is all about this book. it’s going to change the world. buy the book, read the book, sign up on her website to participate in a 10 week interactive class with herself and the author.

i’m all for awakening my life’s purpose. i buy the book. i’m TRYING to read the book. so far i don’t get it. i guess i’m still sleeping.

i have a few peeves with this book.

he uses the word “ethereal” 3 or 4 times within the first 3 or 4 pages. that bugs me. get a thesaurus. it’s easy, watch me: ethereal….aerial, airy, celestial, dainty, divine, empyreal, empyrean, exquisite, fairy, filmy, fine, gaseous, ghostly, gossamer, heavenly, impalpable, insubstantial, intangible, light, rarefied, refined, spiritual, sublime, subtle, supernal, tenuous, unearthly, unsubstantial, unworldly, vaporous, vapory

pick something.

also, he writes sentences that even after i’ve read them repeatedly, they MAKE NO SENSE. ex:

okay i couldn’t find one right now. maybe it was because i was reading at 2am that they didn’t make sense. well, some of them still don’t make sense to me but the sentence structure is there, they just seem like stupid sentences (again to me just my opinion here, if you are being awakened by this book, go you!).

maybe my problem is that while trying to read this book i’m also listening to one by peter walsh titled “does this clutter make my butt look fat” and also reading a book about “financial peace” by dave ramsey. can you say self help much?

okay, i’m going to put my crabby ‘tude on the shelf and try to read the book with an open mind if not a fully awakened mind in a de-cluttered house with a balanced check book (yet…i’m nothing if not optimistic!).

and just because, here’s is ian with his first “art work” on my fridge.

iancoloring2.jpgiancoloring.jpg

19 Responses to “i don’t get it.”

  1. Diana February 25, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    WHAT book? Gees, you could at least tell us the title after sucha rant!
    LY!
    Diana

  2. Gayle February 25, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    I didnt buy the book. Glad I didnt. Could you quote one of the ethereal lines tho? And one of the other ones that doesnt make sense? Then I can be even happier that I didnt get on her book bandwagon.

    And that Ian… what great fridge art! And even greater pics of him. Thanks for sharing that little sunshine with us.

    Gayle

  3. Bug February 25, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    Oh my. The last picture of Ian gave me the giggles. I love his smile!

  4. Terri February 25, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    You CAN’T be talking about Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett! One of my all time favorites!!
    TerriW

  5. Jan February 25, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    Ian is of course, handsome and just makes me smile! And then I start thinking of having time to watch oprah… or have time to read… and I laughed hysterically πŸ˜‰ Books on tape/cd/mp3… just keep playing them while driving, quilting etc…. now you are going to make me google it and see what book it is…. signed… a can’t stop myself self help book addict…. just cause you read them doesn’t mean you have to follow all the advice.. right?!

  6. Sybil February 25, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    I’m with-ya sista! When I sit down to read this book (I’m sure you are talking about The New Earth, aren’t you?) my head hears “blah, blah, blah”. I think the concept is good – and you know I’m all about the spiritual vs religious point of view – and I know about critical mass and the monkeys and all….but the way he writes is downright frustrating and un-understandable. I feel like I’m reading a text book written in greek. And, I don’t think I’m a dummy either! Maybe I’m just not ethereal enough? (teehee)

    I didn’t sign up for the classes as I think it would be too frustrating doing it on broadband. Maybe Big O will bring it down to a level that the common folk can understand?

    As far as the frig pics….what a little cutie that Prince is! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Michele February 25, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    Ian is so cute! I love his picture. I have a nephew about his age, too and they are soooo much fun to watch as they learn new things and discover the world.

  8. myolivebranch February 25, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    yes it’s The New Earth (not Pillars….that’s on my to read list)

    i’m glad i’m not the only one “dragging on the ground behind the bandwagon”!

    i surely don’t mean for this post to be a book review. don’t buy or not buy the book on my opinion! please, i don’t want the responsibility!

  9. Christine Olson February 25, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    Well, if Oprah says “buy the book” and you DID, then yes. You actually do get it. You get it in your pocketbook! VBG.

    I’m sorry, I shouldn’t make light of your situation. However, I have long ago grown weary with her book selections. For awhile to stories seemed too dark and dreary and lately she seems a little to “preachy” about…stuff!

    Maybe it’s because at the ripe old age of 51, I finally know it all! ROFLOL!!!! πŸ˜€ (Just kidding…)

    Good luck with the book. Could you give us a synopsis of the book when you’re done? πŸ˜‰

  10. Christine Olson February 25, 2008 at 9:38 pm #

    BTW, Ian’s a hunk! πŸ˜‰

  11. grapegrower February 25, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    oprah is an money making industry operating under the guise of a charitable organization.
    dont participate in her scams.

  12. Deb Levy February 26, 2008 at 1:47 am #

    All I have to say is: Screw it all…the only important stuff is Ian and his artwork!

  13. freda1951 February 26, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    Ian is a cutie Kay and I love his artwork. I say put the book in the floor and use it as a step stool. That way you will get something for your money. lol

  14. AllenQuilts February 26, 2008 at 6:34 pm #

    ROTFLMAO at Deb! I 2nd her comment!

  15. Lynn Douglass February 28, 2008 at 5:48 am #

    I’m still laughing at the review of the book! When Oprah first started her book club, of course I ran out and bought what she suggested. That lasted through about the first three suggested reads. I’m with Christine, the stories were dark and very depressing in my opinion. My sister wants me to do the online group for A New Earth. I’m afraid you’d hear a lot of zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz coming from my house! Oh, and I just cleared off two shelves of self help books! Off to Goodwill!
    P.S. Ian is absolutely adorable! Definitely an artist! πŸ™‚

  16. carlafibers February 28, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m with Lynn… I avoid anything with “O” on the cover! Frankly the books she picks are depressing!

    Love the pic of Ian, though… what a cutie!!

  17. lindasteller February 28, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    Hey there darlin – I’m at work, so I don’t have your direct email address. I don’t do so well with books that are recommended. I generally have to pull up a little ad about them, read it, and see if I think I would like it. I use Audible, so I do pretty well there.

    About pedometers — I’ve been using a SportBrain. I really like it. Seems accurate, and I plug it into my computer each night and it keeps track of how far I went each day for me. Even compares me to others in my age group. Just what do all these old ladies think they’re doing out there, walking more than me? It will even let me wait a few days to plug in, then will put in all the steps for all the days. It knows when I go for my walks. The big brother of all pedometers!

  18. Becca February 28, 2008 at 11:01 pm #

    ooooooh I love Ians little smile. What a doll! p.s. I too gave up on Oprah books a while ago.They made me too sad.

  19. sandy February 29, 2008 at 4:28 am #

    She’s just getting too full of herself. I only watch when Dr. Oz and BGreene show up. Oh and Nate.

    Boy am I glad I never purchased any of her books.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

