here it is! kaffe

7 Jan

okay so the karen and k club. we set aside one saturday each month and get together. usually it’s about sewing but karen had a HUGE paduka 9-patch (nickel quilts) that she wanted to lay out and i had quilts to prep for the retreat so it was a non sewing day.

karen got her quilt layed out and it’s going to be a beauty. she used civil war fabrics along with shirtings. the blocks were 8″ square and she set it 12×12. she had 80-90 blocks left over! she has trouble limiting her fabrics. (teehee)

i got 4 (count ’em 4) quilts prepped. i had started them probably 5 years ago in classes with pat speth (we like to call her spat peth) and never got back to them. in these 2 little boxes, are all the parts for 4 quilts. granted 3 of them are not large quilts. they are small laps quilts. but HEY! i’m all ready for the retreat and it’s all contained in these 2 boxes. just for safetys sake, i’l bring along a bag of charms. and another grouping of fabric just in case i get all 4 nickels done (VERY doubtful)

so each quarter of the year, the karen and k club has a theme. and my personal goals regarding quilting are to finish piecing 4 UFO’s (see above boxes!), quilt 4 things for myself–and not things for me to give away, and that allows me to start 4 new projects (in conjunction with the quarterly theme).

the quarterly theme now is kaffe. i’ve always loved this little pattern of his. okay, first off, let me say this….and i’m not complaining, well maybe a little i am…..but i don’t like his instructions in general. in fact i think they stink. so i basically had to draft a pattern myself since i saw no reason to foundation piece this. oh well…..anyhow, isn’t it cute?

circustents.jpg

it’s called circus tents. it’s not a big quilt. actually kinda puny but it will be fun. the blox are 5″ finished.

and here are my fabrics.
kaffe.jpg

can you say yum?!?! just like candy. i forgot to put my backgrounds in there…they are hand dyed greens. i think it will look great on the clubhouse wall.

which by the by, still has 2 empty mouse houses. but no new “signs” of visitors.

3 Responses to “here it is! kaffe”

  1. freda1951 January 7, 2008 at 1:38 am #

    That is sure pretty fabric Kay. Have fun at your retreat.

  2. myolivebranch January 7, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    i too think it will be fun to work on!

  3. Snort January 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Thanks for a lovely day at the clubhouse and for lending me your tables so I could arrange my blocks! I’m so excited that they are ready to sew together. And I organized two projects yesterday for our retreat. Yeah! One of them is one of my two Kaffe quilts…… the easy one so I can yak and not mess up. :o) You know how I love to talk….

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

