what’s that? oh it’s me ROARING. :)

12 Dec

so i am thinking to become a bit more ummmm what’s the word i’m looking for……handy? self sufficient? less needy? less naggy? whatever, you get my drift.

and i think there is a learning curve with most things. that’s my story and i’m going with it.

yesterday i noticed the kitchen sink was draining a bit slow. typically i would “mention” this to scott every couple of days until the sink would no longer drain at all. i would then stop doing dishes and when we ran out of forks, he would start thinking about doing something about it. this has been the modus opperendei (i’m so NOT looking up the spelling of that) for almost 30 years. he’s perfected his role here. i’m switching up the game. i like to keep things fresh and i’m also working on becoming unpredictable.

i decide what i need is some chemicals. i zip into town and pick up some drano MAX along with $57 worth of miscellaneous things at the grocery store (like chocolate). i zip back home and follow the instructions exactly….1/2 bottle for average problem. full bottle for big problem. i went big and used the entire bottle. i let it “work” for the recommended 30 minutes and then flushed with hot water. except the flushing didn’t go as planned. instead of clearing up my slow draining problem. it changed it to a NO draining problem. okay, that sounds like it was no problem. what i mean is that there was NO DRAINING going on. crap.

what i need is MORE chemicals. and even though the instructions i carefully read said not to “plunge” the chemicals, i’m thinking this might be a better idea than say… admitting to scott that i made things worse. so i look at the bathroom plunger and well even though i’ve never personally used it, i have a pretty good idea what it is used for and i don’t really want to put that in my kitchen sink. so in addition to more chemicals, i need a new KITCHEN plunger. having the right tools for the right job is important or so i read once. okay, i zip into town once again only this time i go to the hardware store. who knew there were 6 different styles of plungers? the wood handle or the fancy acrylic one? red rubber or terra cotta rubber? i found the most fantastic plunger. it’s called the MASTERBLASTER. how could i go wrong here? oh and i got the economy $20 bottle of COMMERICIAL chemicals. yeah, and more chocolate.

so the instructions warn against plunging as it could cause splashing. and splashing is not good for the eyes, skin etc. so i should have bought some goggles. i’m sure i’ll need them for a future project but in the mean time, all i could find were some old goggles that i wore when i went to the tanning booth. sure they were purple and totally clashed with my outfit but safety first i always say. i picked out a towel and laid that over the other sink to soak up any splashing on that side and away i went. plunge, suck, plunge, suck, rinse and repeat.

WALAA. i have a free draining sink. well, not free as in inexpensive…..

$25 in gas for 2 trips to town
$30 in chemicals
$15 in tools (the MASTERBLASTER)
$10 in chocolate
$10 towel (turns out chemicals are bad after all)

doing it myself: priceless.

although no animals or humans were harmed, we do not recommend you attempting this in your home. and please contact your doctor before beginning any exercise program.

14 Responses to “what’s that? oh it’s me ROARING. :)”

  1. lindasteller December 12, 2007 at 5:58 am #

    What a woman! I’m so proud of you. I’ll have to look for one of those MasterBlasters — sounds like a tool I need!

    Linda

  2. Sybil December 12, 2007 at 10:04 am #

    you GO girl!
    I thought I heard some roarin’ going on

  3. Jan December 12, 2007 at 1:23 pm #

    Go Kay!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Snort December 12, 2007 at 1:29 pm #

    OMG. Too funny….. I suppose I’ll see a plumbers crack next time I see you. And for future use, my mom has a complete library of do-it-yourself books that I’m sure you can borrow. I just might have to call you the next time there is an “issue” in my house – having my friend fix things will get my hubby motivated. How embarrassing would that be for him! Do you feel like tackling a bathroom remodel? Or fixing plaster wall cracks? The list goes on…..

  5. mkak December 12, 2007 at 2:18 pm #

    What a W-O-M-A-N! Don’t show the Mr. the price list or he’ll be mad you spent so much on your achievement! If we tackle that wallpaper project which was on your Christmas list – I wonder what our list would be?

  6. myolivebranch December 12, 2007 at 2:21 pm #

    yeah, definitely no need to involve the mr!! and so far no cracking. thanks for being concerned about that tho! and are you volunteering for the wallpapering project??!?! πŸ™‚

  7. mum December 12, 2007 at 2:23 pm #

    Good Girl! I too had a problem a while back and similar experience and learned something. I would plunge down and up and down and up and after two days had the plumber’s number but tried once again and a light bulb went off and figured out I pushed the clog down and by sucking up I just jammed it up again. Finally by just pushing – it worked like a charm (along with all those chemicals). What a wonderful feeling to “Do It Yourself”!

  8. Carol December 12, 2007 at 3:17 pm #

    Amazing woman! Loved the story and I could feel your energy of power to succeed.

  9. Christine Olson December 12, 2007 at 6:19 pm #

    ROFLOL!!! You certainly deserve kudos for a mission accomplished.

    For future reference, it may have been cheaper to just purchase a plumbers snake. You know, the device that expands, rotates and cuts the clog out out the pipes? They come in varying sizes and are invaluable. Digusting but useful.

    Since moving away from my folks, we no longer have easy access to one of these so I might have to break down and get one for DH as a gift. πŸ˜‰ (My kids have bathroom “issues”.)

    I figure it’s payback for the year I received an umbrella for Christmas. πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

  10. AllenQuilts December 12, 2007 at 8:30 pm #

    ROTFLOL! WTG, Kay!! BTW, your wit and humor are priceless, too!

  11. freda1951 December 13, 2007 at 1:02 am #

    Too funny Kay but glad you got the drain flowing again.

  12. KK December 13, 2007 at 1:26 am #

    Good going, Kay! I can hear you roar all the way here in SC! Wonder if that plunger would help my stopped up sinuses??

  13. grapegrower December 14, 2007 at 1:05 am #

    it’s good when women decide to learn how to do the real work around the house.

  14. myolivebranch December 14, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    kris, would you flick grapegrower for me? thanks.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

