okay. i’m ready for my last day on the job

15 Nov

today is my last meeting of a quilt club i lead for the lqs. a quick check in the mirror indicates all systems are go…hair is freshly washed and appropriated squished using a minimum of 5 different styling products to give it that “i just rolled out of bed and my hair looks like this” look. several layers of facial products have been carefully applied to give the illusion that “i’m 47 years old (and 2 days) and gee i look like i’m only 46 and 354 days old”. clothing that is totally inappropriate for the calendar season but perfectly appropriate for the “personal summers” i experience without warning. perhaps the best thing i can say is that all of my “flappy” parts are loosely covered to allow for airflow! and jewels are in place….i have 2 pairs of earrings. i really only need one pair but sometimes i can’t find them so a backup pair isn’t a bad thing. one ring (i have others but only wear one) and a bracelet (i have several of these but again, only wear one at a time). i only dress up 5 times a month so i don’t need alot of bling. somehow bling and pajamas just seems over the top…..but then again i LOVE wearing my crowns with pajamas.

the truck is loaded with dozens of “MANLY quilts” which is the theme this month as well as misc. tidbits of things to show the group all the tips i learned this month. that is definately one thing i WON’T miss (the dismantleing and remantleing; loading and unloading and reloading and reunloading, begging, borrowing, and stealing quilts to reflect the quarterly themes…..i guess that’s more than one thing.

i will miss many things though….the members have been very good to me. they laugh at all my silliness, they ooh and aah at all the right things, they’ve coo’d at my grandbaby, they’ve forgiven me when i fallen short, they’ve so inspired me with their show and tell projects, and they’ve shared bits of their lives with me and that especially i will take with me. thanks guys. it’s been grand. i know i’ve said this a crapzillion times…..it’s all about me and i’m the luckiest girl in the world. you’ve tickled me PINK.

3 Responses to “okay. i’m ready for my last day on the job”

  1. grapegrower November 15, 2007 at 10:25 pm #

    i bet there won’t be a dry eye in the house!

  2. AllenQuilts November 16, 2007 at 12:33 am #

    Kay, Happy Belated Birthday!! Sorry I missed it…been under the weather with my stupid shoulder. Hope it was wonderful!

  3. Jan November 16, 2007 at 1:25 am #

    I hope the last day was filled with joy and laughter and you enjoy many more with your friends and someone else in charge 😀

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

