does anybody know what day it is?!?

29 Oct

it’s monday supper swap! one meal has arrived and it’s a spagetti dinner complete with garlic bread and cookie bars for dessert. my swap is not quite complete yet. it’s chicken tortilla soup with tiny little individual key lime pies. kelly is bringing chicken stuffing cassarole.

here’s the deets on the chicken tortilla soup:

4 (6 inch) corn tortillas
1/2 cup onion, chopped
3 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 garlic clove
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
2 cans (14 1/2 oz each) chicken broth
1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes undrained
1 can (4 oz) chopped green chillies, undrained
4 teaspoons fresh cilantro, snipped
shredded cheddar cheese (enough to top the soup with)
4 thick slices of fresh lime
sour cream

slice tortilla’s into 1/2″ strips (i use a pizza cutter, kitchen scissors would work too) and bake 7-8 minutes at 400 until crunchy. it’s easy to forget these so set your timer!

you can do the chicken any way you like it…you can cube it and then cook it in the pan with a smidge of olive oil for about 3 minutes or you can cook it in the breast form and then shred it. i like it shredded. eventually you’re going to need the oiled pan to add the onion, garlic, chili power and cumin to the chicken meat-cook and stir a few minutes. add in broth, tomatoes and chilies. bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer at bit (10 min?)

divide your tortilla strips into 4 groups. either put them in the bottom of the bowls or toss them on top of the soup after filling the bowls. top with shredded cheese, sour cream, snipped cilantro and garnish with a fat slice of lime to squeeze on top if desired or to just look pretty if you don’t desire.

7 Responses to “does anybody know what day it is?!?”

  1. Carol October 29, 2007 at 4:44 pm #

    I just had to drop you a note to tell you how much I enjoyed your church cleaning story. You are a wonderful blogger. I am also taking down the soup recipe – looks great! Thanks

  2. mkak October 29, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m so glad I’m in the supper swap club with you and Carin. I can’t wait for my meals this week!! I make a big mess for 3 meals but then it’s cleaned up in about 30 minutes and I get two meals that I didn’t have to do a darn thing with – it is awesome!

  3. carlafibers October 30, 2007 at 3:10 am #

    Thanks for the recipe! Can’t wait to try it! I loved fixing your last one, too!

  4. AllenQuilts October 30, 2007 at 9:10 pm #

    Forget the M&M’s…I want a bowl of soup!

  5. Lindy Dare November 11, 2007 at 12:32 am #

    Your pink m&m peanuts don’t look like they have been opened! LOL
    Mine are half gone! girlfriend, get eating.

    Lindy
    I found you!!!!! You are a hoot.

  6. Lindy Dare November 11, 2007 at 12:40 am #

    Oh yes, we have been eating a similar soup all summer, only ours is ready made and its by Campbells. Really, no kidding, but they discontinued it so I called them and they gave me the recipe. It’s call chile verde, and when I find it I’ll email it to you.

    Lindy

  7. Lindy Dare November 11, 2007 at 12:42 am #

    Oh yes, we have been eating a similar soup all summer, only ours is ready made and its by Campbells. Really, no kidding, but they discontinued it so I called them and they gave me the recipe. It’s call chile verde, and when I find it I’ll email it to you.

    Oh, oh, oh here it is! Hope you like it,

    Campbells Chili Verde Recipe

    1 can (10 ¾ ounces) Campbell’s Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup (Regular or
    98% Fat Free)
    1 teaspoon ground cumin
    ½ teaspoon ground cilantro (coriander)
    ½ teaspoon garlic powder
    ½ teaspoon chili powder
    1 can (4 ounces) Pace Chopped Green Chilies

    For more heat, add ¼ teaspoon chopped jalapeno pepper.

    Lindy

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

