rant alert!!! male bashing!!! woe is me!!!

28 Oct

ok all the warnings have been posted. if you’re in a good mood and loving life, you may wanna skip this one!

so WE go to a little country church. and part of doing OUR part for the church is to clean the church once or twice a year. october is when WE typically do it. (has anyone noticed that kay is capitalizing certain words?!?) so on saturday WE get up and get going for the day and scott asks what my plan for the day is. (ok, he got points for asking but lost them ALL later on). i said i had to run to the bank, make a delivery, hit the grocery store and clean the church and if there were any hours left in the day i had a customer quilt to work on. i asked what his plans included even though i ALREADY knew since i pay attention and had overheard him making his evil plan. he was going hunting. all day. most of the evening. tata. have a good day.

so NOT ONLY do i have to clean the whole church by MYSELF but he robs me of playing the role of the good wife. and i admit it. i would be playing the role. i’m nobody’s good wife. but he COULD have said, “golly kay, let me call joe and see if we can start hunting an hour later and i can at least help out that long” he also could have said “how about we rip over there right now and we can get it done fast like together”. he even could have said “gosh, babe, i’m sorry i’m bailing on you. i’ll make it up to you”. yeah, no. he said none of these things and thereby ROBBED me of my lines of “oh no. you were gone working all week long. you big strong man, i WANT you to go hunting. you have a good time now dear and i’ll have a nice hot meal waiting for you whenever you decide to come home”. yeah, no. i didn’t get to say my lines. grrrr.

to add insult to injury…..i tried to multitask thinking it would speed things up…..i was dusting down the pews (30 of them!), straightening the books, and vacuuming all at the same time. and somehow managed to tangle up my feet in the vacuum cords and down i went. all the way to the floor. can you say thud? i wanted to cuss but was concerned about lightening so i eventually just got up since obviously i had NO-ONE to call to help for! (MEN! grrrr) so i start gimping along trying to finish my work and i guess i got a little aggressive with one of the plant stands and knocked over a plant stand. pot broke and the dirt spilled all over the place. hello? is there a hidden camera here?

thankfully along about this time cynthia showed up and provided some much needed sympathy.

so anyhoo, the church was clean this morning (i could very faintly smell lemon pledge!). scott is still living although the plant isn’t. and i have my inspiration for my postcard exchange. oh yeah, i also hired a high school kid to take MY turn next october. i’m sure it won’t be any more expensive than the chiropractor appts are gonna cost me.

and if there WAS a camera there, i want part of the funniest home video prize money!

7 Responses to “rant alert!!! male bashing!!! woe is me!!!”

  1. Jan October 29, 2007 at 12:16 am #

    Ouch!!!!! I’d hire that right out too!! Ouch!! Bad Scott!! I hope you feel better in the morning… and that he brings you wine and chocolate at least!

  2. mkak October 29, 2007 at 2:01 am #

    Oh, my I am laughing my you know what off!!! Why didn’t you call me – Kayla and I could have whipped over there and watch you fall before we went to the dog show yesterday and then shopping and a fabulous lunch!! I’ve decided I’ve lost my youthfulness. Yesterday with Kayla who did look fabulous in her 15 minutes of preparation time – every flippin store we went in people were coming up to her in serious numbers saying how much they loved her outfit (okay it was a lot cutier than mine) or her hair and was it natural etc. I used to in my younger days get a few comments about my hair etc. So, guess I’m going to have to not go out in public with her anymore until I get a couple of compliments!! I’m serious – we were at Granite City and this waitress almost flew over someones table to come up to her and tell her she looked fabulous and I was stanting there like “well what am I? Chopped liver? I guess once you get over that hill and start on the downside it is all downhill. I’m glad you didn’t get seriously hurt except for your pride and Scott should be punished – we’ll think of something to make him know he was a very bad boy!

  3. Charlie October 29, 2007 at 2:41 am #

    i would comment, but i’m a guy…and i have seen those types of capital letters before. i’m getting out of here before someone gets hurt simply for having the wrong set of chromosomes

  4. grapegrower October 29, 2007 at 4:13 am #

    SNIFF! SNIFF! is that a burning martyr i can smell?

  5. AllenQuilts October 29, 2007 at 12:07 pm #

    Poor Kay! Bless your heart…sounds like something that would happen to me…only I don’t volunteer to clean anything, other than my house, ever, and let’s not even get into how well I do that…

  6. myolivebranch October 30, 2007 at 11:50 am #

    neil-i don’t smell anything. i think your sniffer is broke.

    i do feel better and am heading to the clubhouse for a full on sprint of customer quilts!

    relax charlie-i would never physically harm anyone. unless your name was neil. 🙂

  7. Cynthia November 9, 2007 at 1:27 am #

    How exciting, I made the blog! I should have offered to stay and help you…we’re on church cleaning duty this month. I’ll take your advice and have my husband do it.

    Check out this website…I got the cute purpley-lime jumper for Aliyah this summer. It is so cute on her and such a great cause.
    http://www.globalmamas.org

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

