well crap

27 Sep

seems i’ve used up my free allotment of photo downloads. will have to ponder my options. anybody out there already have a plan?

do you delete your older posts? or just the pix from the older posts?

do you purchase more storage?

what to do? what to do?

6 Responses to “well crap”

  1. Suzanne September 27, 2007 at 4:27 pm #

    the main trick is to shrink your photos BEFORE you upload them so you don’t use up so much space.

    i’ve been on wordpress for months and i’ve still only used 28% of my free storage.

    i guess it depends on how much time you want to spend: i’d probably go back through old posts, delete the photos and reupload them in a smaller file size.

    or you could look at uploading your files to someplace like Flickr or Webshots and linking to them from here.

    or you could pay for the upgrade and then work on smaller pictures for future posts.

    large pictures file sizes are important for printing, but for display on a web page, smaller is better….

  2. mkak September 27, 2007 at 8:39 pm #

    Darn, I like to be able to see the fine quilting detail by being able to make the pictures bigger!!! LOL!!! I will miss seeing the nice pictures of Tom – have you found Tom yet?

  3. grapegrower September 28, 2007 at 4:25 am #

    i am with suzanne’s first suggestion on this one.
    u dont need large photo files for a blog.
    <100kb is ok i would imagine.
    try it and see what u can get away with
    or
    start a new blog with blogger.com
    they don’t seem to have a photo upload limit.
    (ok, ducking for cover now)

  4. AllenQuilts September 28, 2007 at 12:01 pm #

    Kay, I was close to running out of storage, so I went back and deleted some of the older pics that didn’t really need the detail to show. The thumbnails are still there, but if you click on them, there is no bigger pic. Anyway, that got me back down to where I had some storage left. Started shrinking my pics, and so far, I haven’t used up much more.

  5. Jan September 28, 2007 at 12:56 pm #

    I do a little of all of that…. but you can do flikr, picture trail, google/picassa, etc for storage too. It depends on the day of the week… how much sleep I have had and other completely norelevant events to which way I decide to post. But over all, reducing the size on any place you keep them will just help your upload times, storage etc. And most of them resize them down anyway.

  6. carlafibers September 28, 2007 at 10:39 pm #

    I really shrink mine before loading. I basically do what Suzanne mentions. Good luck!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

