the lone star

26 Sep

has never been my favorite pattern. visually it was not in the top 10 quilt patterns that made me swoon. typically it’s made with bias diamond shapes which doesn’t lend itself to someone who likes to cut fast and piece “close enough is good enough”. and on the quilting aspect….there is so durn much space in which to get creatively stumped. so yeah, hasn’t been a fav of mine.

along comes a quilt show where a vendor is hawking a product called quiltsmart. it’s a fusable interfacing. and wouldn’t you know, she has the cutest lone star quilt there. fabric was wonderful and the quilting fun. first i asked for a kit since as you know i AM a quilter and COULD manage to quilt something for myself. “no kits. but here is the quiltsmart stuff for only $19.95 and you can do it yourself. it’s easy” i pass. and i leave for a bit and come back as you do at quilt shows. i ask if she perchance is interested in selling her quilt (ridiculous i know….i’m a QUILTER for cryin’ in the soup!) “no not interested, but here is the quiltsmart…..you work with rectangles instead of diamonds..no bias” no thanks i say and i wander to the booth next door. oooh look at this funky fabric, and this one. before i can say “charge it” i’ve picked out fabric for my lone star quilt. fine. i’ll take the danged quilt smart stuff.

and walaa! here it is: just pieced not quilted yet. into the ufo pile it goes! it was a VERY easy technique and quite fast. most of my points are pretty perfect (as opposed to my usual “bless her little heart. she sure tried hard” type work) this is the small lone star and they have several other patterns (fan, dahlia, dwr, apple core) available. http://www.quiltsmart.com. if your lqs doesn’t happen to have them, i’m sure they’d get them in for you.
lonestarfull.jpg lonestarcorner1.jpg lonestardetail.jpg

there ya go… a little quilting snack for your wednesday morning! tasty!

8 Responses to “the lone star”

  1. AllenQuilts September 26, 2007 at 11:54 am #

    Oh YUMMY, Kay! That rocks!

  2. Jan September 26, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    That is fabulous!!! I love it!!

  3. Gina September 26, 2007 at 2:28 pm #

    I love those wild ways!!!

  4. Suzanne September 26, 2007 at 4:47 pm #

    Oh, very cute! Yummy fabric. I did a lonestar with the Quiltsmart and liked it. I had trouble with my mitered border, but have no one but myself to blame for that…..

  5. Peg September 26, 2007 at 4:58 pm #

    Too cute – I’m jealous – can I have it?

  6. mkak September 27, 2007 at 2:56 am #

    Seems like those colors will go nice in the clubhouse!! Nice but I still like The Prince better!!!

  7. sybil September 27, 2007 at 9:51 am #

    It’s a bit pink……………..lol

  8. kayp September 27, 2007 at 11:35 am #

    i’m glad my quilting friends like my quilt…peg, i’ll put your name on a little piece of masking tape and tape it to the back so when i die, it’s yours (who needs a will when you have a big roll of masking tape!?!)!

    and isn’t it nice to have family to keep your head from swelling…. 😉 a bit pink my patootie she says as she stomps off in a huff wondering “where’s my bike?”.

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

