finally! something quilty!

31 Aug

it’s not like i’ve been a slug regarding quilting although sometimes it seems so. I have been busy busy busy but i would sometimes rather post something FINISHED rather than in stages. But sometimes stages is good too.

So this little project is out of my norm. I don’t typically piece quilts for others. someone very special and dear to me-let’s call her cindy (and for the sake of arguement, let’s say she’s my aunt) , asked for help in putting together some blocks that had been rumbling around in a duffle bag for several years (ok really, she didn’t want “help” she wanted someone to “do it”). There are lots and lots of blocks. enough for a very large quilt. I was hesitant to take on such a big project but when asked, cindy said “oh even if you could just finish one block and make a pillow out of it i’d be happy. or a table runner. just anything. The blocks were initially made by her grandmother probably 50 years ago give or take a decade. my sister kris had removed all the green melons and replaced many with a muslin and put 4 rings together….that was probably 10 years ago. here’s the blocks: 1053.jpgaren’t those fabrics just too too fun? i really got a charge out of looking at them.

so….I spent the day at the lqs getting “remedial” learning from cleo. we took the 4 rings that were completed and added 8 more to make a top 3 rings by 4 rings and is 50something by 70something. nice large lap size. that’s cleo’s sleeve in the photo. isn’t she cute? i owe her a big time favor for the help! thnx cleo!1054.jpg

as is sometimes the case when 3 different quilters work on a piece and when a piece spans 1/2 a century timewize, the finished top has some issues. it’s nowhere near perfect. not even close. but what’s better than close or perfect, IT’S DONE! by the time i left the lqs, i had a nice size lap quilt top. 1057.jpg
and today, i quilted it. yes indeed. i quilted it in a freehand feather allover. not traditional for this quilt or the time period. but the best choice for me given the issues with the quilt. and some of the fabrics are pretty fragile too. once i get the binding (curved-YIKES) on i will give it a gentle soak and a toss in the dryer and let it krinkle up to bring out the texture in the quilting and i think it will look fab. so here’s pre-fab pictures of the finished quilting.1058.jpg1059.jpg

so there you have it. something quilty in my blog today and a ufo complete even if technically it wasn’t MY ufo. and i don’t even feel a bit guilty about the big pile of remaining blocks….that’s for a different generation to do!

16 Responses to “finally! something quilty!”

  1. aleyciasue August 31, 2007 at 11:49 pm #

    WoW!! it’s beeeauuuutiful! How fun!

  2. mkak September 1, 2007 at 3:11 am #

    What a great job you did Sista, Cindy will so much appreciate and love it. You’re a good egg!!

  3. Jan September 1, 2007 at 3:14 am #

    I love it!! Beautiful!!

  4. mum September 1, 2007 at 11:04 am #

    it’s beautiful. I was so excited to see it. now dear girl, I think I have some antique blocks packed away here. Are you interested??? Can’t wait to see it for real.

  5. sybil (aka sister Kris) September 1, 2007 at 11:34 am #

    awww…..you are the BEST! I feel a wee little bit bad that it landed on your lap but I’ll get over it. what a project. If I was there – I’d volunteer to bind it. You did good, sista.

  6. Sally September 1, 2007 at 11:49 am #

    Lovely quilt. I’ve been spending my time today looking at very old editions of Traditional Quilter and thinking ‘if I made one of those, how would I quilt it’, now I can see I need not have worried

  7. Diane F September 1, 2007 at 2:16 pm #

    Kay, I love it! What a nice little quilt show, too bad I don’t have any coffee yet!

  8. carlafibers September 1, 2007 at 3:35 pm #

    I have one of these quilts waiting for me to do. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. eileenkny September 1, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    Oh, I do love those colors!! That is one happy quilt!!!
    I like the all-over feather idea. I have an old DWR to do for my DIL. You gave me an idea.

  10. AllenQuilts September 2, 2007 at 12:29 am #

    It’s awesome! I am so proud of you for working on it! I’m sure some long gone quilter is smiling at that and is well pleased.

  11. Alycia September 2, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    Oh Very neat – and what a treasure that will be to your um shall we say Aunt? I love how it turned out! You have rescued a UFO!!

  12. janthompson September 3, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    Wow, Kay – what a treasure. Can you ask that it come to you when she is gone?

  13. myolivebranch September 3, 2007 at 9:00 pm #

    thanks guys. 🙂 it is a beauty and i hope someone is smiling at it’s near completion! mum…what’s the “history” behind your antique blocks? jan, i suppose I “could” ask for it to come back to me eventually but it’s true history is not mine. i’m guessing that even if her kiddos aren’t “into” it today, they will be someday and it’s their treasure. especially after their mom (my aunt) puts her lovin’ into it.

  14. The Aunt September 4, 2007 at 1:51 pm #

    Dearest Kay – I check your blog every day. But today, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing and reading. Your writing always makes me smile, and even considering the difficult circumstances in my life right now, my smile today is stretched and wrapped around my face, meeting at the back of my head. The history behind this quilt is beyond explanation, just trust me – even those who don’t know me. My Grandma, indeed, started it for me fifty-five years ago. I can vividly remember her clipping and snipping, and sitting on her lap as pumped the pedal on her ol’Singer, digging through rag bags and boxes of my mothers clothes. The rest of her clothes, Grandma burned. Mom had died when I was 2; thus, the reason I was living with my Grandma. She handed over the pieces to me in a paper sack before she died forty years ago. I am, to say the least, overwhelmed, dear Kay and “Sybil”. What a treasure – what a comfort it will be – This is one dream that came true! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking this on. Grandma, Mom and I are all smiling.

  15. sybil September 4, 2007 at 8:53 pm #

    I am SO SO SO glad I never realized (or remembered) that these fabrics were your mothers old clothes. Think of the nerves I would have had as the quilt pieces traveled around in the boot of my car for years?

    I can feel the smiles!

  16. Brenda J September 6, 2007 at 10:59 pm #

    What a treasure you’ve all created, and a blessing to you all. You are a gem, Kay!!

Leave a comment so I know you are reading!

